Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Germani, Daniele: A Congregation Of Folks

Daniele Germani was born in Italy before moving to Boston in 2013. He subsequently spent some time studying at the Berklee College Of Music where he met like minded musicians, and eventually became a mainstay at Boston’s Wally’s Café Jazz Club where he played every Friday night. On his debut album titled A Congregation Of Folks, Germani has put together an excellent group of players from across the globe.

In the band:
Daniele Germani (alto sax)
Giuseppe Cucchiara (double bass)
Justin Salisbury (piano)
Jongkuk Kim (drums)

A sweet bass intro begins “They Move In On The Action” and soon Germani’s sax unfolds with some lovely tones imbuing a romantic quality that flows beautifully from the instrument. All the while the drum work of Kim is busy and complex, in direct contrast to the slowly forming piano and sax. On “One Moment To Moment” the piano and sax come together for some nice solos before making room with Cucchiara’s double bass and its elastic-like sound. Slow and faster tempos give “The Capitalist Creed” an element of complexity as pretty piano and flourishes of saxophone almost disguise the frenetic drum work in the background. The title track is a beautiful piece with serene saxophone and soft piano while “Half Believe It” combines pleasant sax melodies with vibrant and creative band interplay as all the players set a breathtaking pace. Thirteen tracks in all with not a weak one in the bunch.

A Congregation Of Folks is a superb album where modern jazz and catchy melodies are crafted with great care and attention to detail. Highly recommended.

A GleAM Records release.

Track Listing:
1. They Move In On The Action (2:32)
2. One Moment To Moment (6:08)
3. The Capitalist Creed (3:57)
4. A Congregation Of Folks (2:07)
5. Half Believe It (4:51)
6. In The Field Of The Unconscious (6:45)
7. Eres Luz Variation (0:53)
8. Eres Luz (4:41)
9. But It Doesn’t Mean it’s Danger-Free (4:59)
10. No Clouds In The Air (1:50)
11. Salisbury Introduces YLWFBL (0:49)
12. You Like Won’t Find A Better Listener (4:49)
13. Farewell (A Congregation Of Folks) (1:29)

Added: March 3rd 2022
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist @ Bandcamp
Hits: 303
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by