Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Enchant: Live at Last

I just completed listening to the double CD effort Live at Last and declare that Enchant have really come alive in this work. Those who know their body of work and have witnessed them perform it will surely find this an absolute must have. The band is tight, harmonies right on, and you have to fight really hard to find a better live prog album than this. This is the one that the rest will be judged against. Enchant are masters of dynamics and pretty melodies, and Ted Leonard's vocals draw out the emotions with every line. The keys of Bill Jenkins give you a great sense of dense texture coupled with effortless scale work. Bass and drums are flawless with Ed Platt and Sean Flanegan moving the band with precision. Sean will surely become a favorite of this genre. Doug Ott, who smoothly fires out Rothery-esque passes with his own unique edge, has a great command of his guitar and its place in the band. It is this facet that really makes Enchant perch high above the masses. The sum is greater than the parts: synergy. You just have to hear the band belt out "Under the Sun" in order to fully appreciate the effort and result. I highlight this track as the cornerstone of the entire double CD.

One knock (and I had to at least try) is that Ted (and Doug) do not really capture their audience. This is a live CD, so I can comment on this nature of the beast. Come on guys, you have your followers in the palms of your hands when you play; give them (us) something from inside. It's a good thing that the Enchant songs aurally relate well to listeners. I must include that I do not solely pick out Enchant for this dish. Let's face it, most bands don't know how to speak. Aside from this minor glitch, Live At Last needs to be added to your music collection: the music stands on its own.

Also check out the March 28, 2005 posting of an interview with Enchant's Doug Ott by our own Michael Popke.

Track Listing CD1

  1. Mae Dae
  2. At Death's Door
  3. Sinking Sand
  4. Under Fire
  5. Broken Wave
  6. Blindsided
  7. Acquantance
  8. Monday
  9. Progtology
  10. The Thirst
  11. Paint The Picture

Track Listing CD2

  1. Under The Sun
  2. What to Say
  3. My Enemy
  4. Follow the Sun
  5. Break
  6. Seeds of Hate
  7. Comatose
  8. Black Eyes & Broken Glass (acoustic)
  9. Colors Fade (acoustic)
  10. Pure
  11. Below Zero
  12. Oasis

Added: May 9th 2005
Reviewer: Bradley Pingèl
Related Link: Official Enchant Site
Hits: 2642
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by