Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Seventh Dimension: Black Sky

Stockholm’s fine Progressive Power Metallers Seventh Dimension drive their fourth full length record into the atmosphere with a vast wave of disjointed rhythmic patterns and a productive musical haulage that can easily make those knees shake. This feisty five piece definitely are more than capable of winning over audiences with no elements of stress at all however I feel for the new ambitiously distributed offering Black Sky, you may just have to dig that extra bit deeper for the material to sit well in your system and you may have to give these tracks time to eventually grown on you.

Do not get me wrong the output from the Swedes is not one to turn your nose away from at all and throughout it consistently follows suit track by track, right up to that very last note. Black Sky as a whole comes with epic interludes with cleverly constructed passages that are on course for a powerfully driven paroxysm; keeping listeners on their toes for the most part. Effective episodes like the superiorly animated Progression punch of ‘Resurgence’, the powerfully pushed regiments ‘Kill the Fire’ and the awesome opener ‘Bad Blood’ really sets the scene with a sense of greatness and a bunch of progressively-minded aspirations.

Fundamentally, the intense depth that is buried inside the textured soils of Black Sky’ are granular spells that would be dominantly a difficult task to compete with at the best of times and the Scandinavian Quintet deliver well with absolute promise, especially shining on through with further entries like the instrumentally introduced ‘Black Sky: Into the Void’ and the pompously gifted tails of the closing opus named ‘Incubus’.

As a whole, this appears as a very solid record to say the least and I believe the talents of the likes of Seventh Dimension will eventually climb up the ladder in due course and if they succeed by continuing to release music of this kind of level then distinctly in the grasps of future endeavours they will become a strong unit indeed.

Track List:
1. Premonition
2. Bad Blood
3. Kill the Fire
4. Resurgence
5. Falling
6. Black Sky: Assembly
7. Black Sky: Into the Void
8. As the Voices Fade
9. Incubus

Added: March 2nd 2022
Reviewer: James Mannion
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 410
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by