Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rodler, Chris: Path Of Most Resistance (Cover Tunes Vol. 1)

Here is another release from multi-instrumentalist Chris Rodler. Having recently reviewed his Left To My Own Devices album and was quite impressed I was interested to hear his album titled Path Of Most Resistance, this time delving into eight cover tunes.

First off, let me say that Rodler has great taste in music judging by his choices here. Many of these tunes are favourites of mine and it must be difficult covering a song you love and trying to put your individual stamp on it. You know, trying to make it your own. So, just how did Rodler do you might ask? I say, pretty well. The disc starts with the amazing U.K. song “In The Dead Of Night”, a challenge which Rodler tackles head on. It’s heavier than the original and not as refined but pretty cool just the same and the lead vocals from Kevin Hultberg are excellent. King Crimson’s “Three Of A Perfect Pair” is next, another brave choice. Again, the guitar is heavier than in the original, but the song’s quirky nature remains intact. The guitar work is excellent. The fine Saga tune “On The Loose” is another cool track with the lead vocals of Jeff Crock sounding uncannily like Michael Sadler. With Deep Purple’s “Perfect Strangers”, Rodler doesn’t stray far from the original but on Steely Dan’s “Do It Again” his guitar his quite different, adding a heavy helping of distortion. Rounding out the disc is King Crimson’s “Frame By Frame” and The Police classic “Synchronicity I”, a couple more solid choices.

While these versions are not better than the originals, I would ask if that is even possible, Rodler shows his unique talent throughout the disc and his musical chops cannot be questioned. Final verdict - 3.5 stars for a job well done. One more thing Chris, please get yourself a website. Get your tunes out there because I think many people will enjoy what they hear.

Chris Rodler (guitars, bass, drums, keyboards)
Kevin Hultberg (vocals on tracks 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8)
Jeff Crock (vocals on tracks 3 and 5)
Michael Graham (additional guitars on tracks 3 and 8)

*Will post image of album cover when it becomes available.*

Track Listing:
1. U.K. - In The Dead Of Night
2. King Crimson - Three Of A Perfect Pair
3. Saga - On The Loose
4. Blue Oyster Cult - Veteran Of The Psychic Wars
5. Deep Purple - Perfect Strangers
6. Steely Dan - Do It Again
7. King Crimson - Frame By Frame
8. The Police - Synchronicity I

Added: February 27th 2022
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist @ Soundcloud
Hits: 297
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by