Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Parsons, Alan: One Note Symphony Live In Tel Aviv

With a back catalogue which is the envy of many an esteemed artiste, as well as his work behind the recording console going back in time as far as The Beatles, any album with the name Alan Parsons attached to it is most welcome.

This is a Double CD/DVD set, and can I add at this juncture that the DVD was unavailable for review, so I’m just looking...or rather listening to the CD release for this particular piece.

Spread over two discs, with the help of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra to add even more gravitas to his already superlative songs, and if history serves me correctly, the fourth time Parsons has played in Israel with an orchestra.

This album has given Parsons the opportunity to play songs that he would otherwise have had difficulty performing live due to the nature of the material. The listener is treated to the likes of `Silence And I` that is a real rarity in the live setting, as well as Parsons own interpretation of `The Sorcerer’s Apprentice` which is taken from his most recent studio album The Secret.

Beautifully recorded (of course), this set displays perfectly the sheer diversity of the material Parsons has assembled throughout the years. `Damned If I Do` has that majestic ,sweeping Progressive feel to it and added to , dare I say it, the pop sensibilities of `Don’t Answer Me` and you just know you’re onto a winner here.

`Time` is given a new lease of life, with a beautifully understated performance from all concerned, `I Wouldn’t Like To Be Like You` is also bought right up to date with an arrangement that defies the years, and the closing track on CD One `Don’t Let It Show` also demonstrates that Parsons has a happy knack of writing a song that pulls on the heartstrings.

CD Two really does carry on with the quality. The aforementioned `Sorcerers Apprentice` ducks and dives magnificently whereas the somewhat perfect simplicity of `Standing On Higher Ground` is the perfect companion.

The rest of the disc ploughs through the Parsons archives with superb renditions of the likes of `Prime Time`, `Sirius - Eye In The Sky` and the US chart hit single `Games People Play` to close the set. This is a top notch performance, and with the orchestra backing adding to the already wonderful overflowing catalogue from one of Prog`s true greats.

Track Listing
1. One Note Symphony
2. Damned If I do
3. Don’t Answer Me
4. Time
5. Breakdown/The Raven
6. Luciferama
7. Silence And I
8. Wouldn’t Want To Be Like You
9. Don’t Let It Show

1. The Sorcerer's Apprentice
2. Standing On Higher Ground
3. As Lights Fall
4. I Can't Get There From Here
5. Prime Time
6. Sirius/Eye In The Sky
7. Old And Wise
8. (The System Of) Dr. Tarr And Professor Fether
9. Games People Play

Added: February 20th 2022
Reviewer: Malcolm Smith
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 998
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by