Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

DeVicious: Black Heart

Now onto their fourth album Germany`s DeVicious have honed their Hard/Melodic Rock chops down to nigh on perfection. Black Heart sees the band becoming even more melodic without losing any of the grittiness of previous releases.

Album opener `Afterlife` really does set the scene for everything that follows, big sing-along choruses, thick, dense guitars, keyboards that offer up texture without getting in the way of everything and, if that wasn’t enough topped off with multilayered vocals.

The likes of `A Special Mind`, `Liar` and the title track itself rattle along at breakneck speed with barely time to take a breath. ‘Not What It Seems` does take it down a notch ever so slightly and is a cunning keyboard driven song that perfectly illustrates the band at their melodic best.` Welcome The Night` has that 1980`s Bon Jovi atmosphere to it...and that’s not a criticism by the way! And is a perfect example of the band at their best.

The album once more picks up speed with `After Midnight` which brings us bang up to date with its aggressive, modern approach, and `Falling` is seemingly channelling their Ratt influences?, and it’s all finished off with `Miles Away`, which with what has preceded it, is a fine way to sign off.

Special mention must be made of the album artwork which features some rather nubile females, who will be featuring in an upcoming comic book the band will be releasing in conjunction with the album. The ladies in question will make up the main characters of the comic, and as I’m led to believe some songs from this album will be going to part of the soundtrack of the comic book...intriguing eh?

This is a fun listen, and that’s not to downplay the album in any way, this release displays a certain toughness, as well as holding onto its melodic leanings, which is no mean feat in this day and age. An album for those of us that still hanker after the era of the 80`s, before grunge (unfortunately) took over the airwaves.

Track Listing
1. Afterlife
2. Heroines
3. A Special Mind
4. Liar
5. Black Heart
6. Not What It Seems
7. Welcome The Night
8. After Midnight
9. Falling
10. Miles Away

Added: February 20th 2022
Reviewer: Malcolm Smith
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 617
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by