Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ian Parry’s Rock Emporium: Brute Force

I have been a fan of Ian Parry for many years now, whether it’s the progressive/power metal of Elegy, his Consortium albums, and various contributions on other artists works like Ayreon, he has consistently put his best foot forward, adding his golden voice to his extensive discography. Marking his fortieth year in the business comes the second instalment of his Rock Emporium project titled Brute Force, the follow up to 2016’s Society of Friends. Although I missed that one I really liked his last solo disc In Flagrante Delicto released at the beginning of 2020.

This new platter brings a huge group of musicians together, including a few who appeared on the first Rock Emporium disc. Kristofer Gildenlow, Jeroen Van Der Wiel, Allen Sorensen, Bob Wijtsma, Patrick Rondat, Timo Somers, to name but a few, are all top-notch players.

The first track “In Isolation” begins the disc with a mournful orchestral build turning into a real foot stomper and does a great job of mixing up the pace. The guitar playing is stellar, whether burning with neo classical intent or slowing it down a notch or two. Parry’s voice still sounds as youthful as ever. On “Darkest Secrets”, strong lead vocals and scorching riffs lead the way while “Til The Day I Die” is a mid-paced rocker as catchy as anything on the disc. The funky guitars and keys starting the hard driving “My Confession” with its nod to Deep Purple and the lovely ballad “Fairytale” with its mood laden atmosphere are two more excellent tunes.

Another fine slice of hard rock and metal from Mr. Parry, something we should all be grateful for. Easily recommended.

Track Listing:
1. In Isolation (5:00)
2. Darkest Secrets (3:42)
3. ‘Til The Day I Die (4:50)
4. My Confession (4:15(
5. Brute Force (3:43)
6. Fairytale (5:35)
7. Lethal Injection (3:02)
8. Rings Of Fire (4:09)
9. Dreamworld (4:04)
10. Where Do We Go From Here (3:22)
Bonus Track
11. One Vision (Tribute to Queen & Freddie Mercury) (4:24)

Added: February 12th 2022
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 883
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by