Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Confess: Revenge At All Costs

It’s not news that all metal bands are angry, and many with good reason - I mean just look at the world right now. However, few live under the threat of being imprisoned and receiving 74 lashes from the authorities, having already been incarcerated purely for making the music they love. That is the fate that befell Iranian heavy groove metal outfit Confess as they released two albums in their homeland. Having managed to claim asylum in Norway, the pair of founder member, guitarist and singer Nikan Khosravi (known here as Siyanor[-13]) and DJ/sampler Arash Ilkhani (known as Chemical) have rebuilt their band with musicians from their new base - Roger Tunheim Jakobsen (drums), Edvard Sundquist (bass) and Steffen Normark (guitars) - and now unleash Revenge At All Costs.

And a mighty battering ram of riff-totting, groove gyrating fury it is too, even if little here strays far from a thrash/groove formula that we’ve lived with for a long time now. But that shouldn’t put us off, because the rich, full sound and twin guitar attack hits with a breathless intent that proves richly rewarding as “Ransom Note” makes its demands, and “You Can’t Tame The Beast” snarls and snaps for all its life. Siyanor[-13] and Normark combine with real authority, peeling off riffs and solos seemingly at will, while the former also thoroughly convinces behind the mic as he straddles a clean and dirty attack with conviction. Admittedly, the lack of variance as you make the journey from “Under Surveillance” to “Army Of Pigs” does blunt the attack somewhat, but taken in isolation, as so many songs are these days, each and every track here makes its mark. However, given the incredible journey that Confess have had to undertake to get this far, there’s no doubt that Revenge At All Costs bodes well for their future.

Track Listing
1. Based On A True Story
3. Phoenix Rises
4. Ransom Note
5. You Can’t Tame The Beast
6. Unfilial Son
7. Megalodon
8. Under Surveillance
9. Hegemony
10. Army Of Pigs!
11. I Speak Hate

Added: February 5th 2022
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Confess @ bandcamp
Hits: 412
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by