Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Deeper Graves: The Colossal Sleep

Deeper Graves is the solo project of Jeff Wilson (Chrome Waves, Contrition, and formerly of Nachtmystium, Wolvhammer, Abigail Williams et al). Whilst I won’t pretend to be over overly familiar with Jeff’s body of work, there is no doubt he is a prolific musician. Whilst much of his material has a heavier edge, his Deeper Graves project allows him to explore a different side, delving into post-punk, shoegaze, and alternative styles.

Deeper Graves second album, The Colossal Sleep is due to release through Disorder Recordings in late January 2022.

Wilson handles vocals, guitars, bass, synth/keys, programming, and all other instrumentation on this album. He also entirely engineered, mixed, and mastered the release too. Guest vocals from Heath Rave (Lotus Thrones, ex-Wolvhammer) on two tracks, and the Album art, are the only aspects if the release that aren’t Wilsons’s work- there’s no doubt the album is a personal endeavor.

Whilst the album isn’t a style that I listen to a lot, I find plenty to like in the release. The compositions and arrangements are dynamic. They are largely moody, reverb drenched affairs - some slower (eg "Feverish Dreams", "In Cold Blood", "15000 Lives") some up-tempo ("Escape Velocity", "Corridors"), but all very listenable. There is a real ‘vibe’ to this album, which is usually a mark of a quality release.

Allowing myself to be a critic for a moment, the vocals on the album aren’t the strongest I’ve ever heard, however they work for the style of music so certainly don’t detract significantly from the listening experience. "In Cold Blood" and "15000 Lives" are my picks for the best tracks on the album.

One of the enjoyable aspects of reviewing albums is taking the time to listen to releases that might otherwise pass you by. Whilst I am unlikely to reach for this album regularly, it’s an enjoyable listen that I wouldn’t have delved into without it being put up for review. Being a relatively concise 6 track release it doesn’t overstay its welcome either, so If Shoegaze is a style that you enjoy then you could do far worse than give this release a spin.

Track List
1) Feverish Dreams
2) Escape Velocity
3) In Cold Blood
4) 15000 Lives
5) Corridors
6) Distant Fires

Added: January 18th 2022
Reviewer: Chris Reid
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 362
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by