Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Samurai of Prog, The: The White Snake - and Other Grimm Tales II

International progsters, The Samurai of Prog, continue their prolific rise with the release of their tenth studio album titled The White Snake. This is the follow-up to The Lady and the Lion, both albums loosely based on the fairy tales by the Brothers Grimm who published these tales in the 1800s. The first volume is an impressive work and, in my estimation, The White Snake is even better.

The album is bookended by “The Tricky Fiddler”. It is a fantastic song, hitting all the right notes with excellent band interplay, fine violin and flute work, folk inspired melodies and scintillating rhythmic work from Bernard and Pörsti. In true progressive fashion, initial themes and melodies are re-established, wrapping up the disc in fine style. With “Searching for the Fear”, sweeping orchestrations, lone piano and wonderful synth solos result in a tasty treat for keyboard fans. It’s a nice blending of mellowness and heavier progressive rock. More outstanding musicianship from all involved and the guitar of Marcel Singor is dominant, precisely when it needs to be. With the five-part title track, written by Oliviero Lacagnina, we get an intricate progressive epic delving through various musical change ups and evolving themes. Absolutely outstanding.

For those familiar with the band this is another must hear album. For those not, you may as well get with the program and devote some time to what is an exceptional band. Easily recommended.

The band:
Marco Bernard (basses)
Kimmo Pörsti (drums and percussion)
Steve Unruh (vocals, violins, flute, guitars)
Marcel Singor (guitars)
Marcella Arganese (guitars)
Rafael Pacha (guitars, Irish flute, mandolin, saz baglama)
Carmine Capasso (guitar)
Marco Grieco (keyboards)
Alessandro Di Benedetti (keyboards)
Mimmo Ferri (keyboards, chitarra battente, electric guitar)
Oliviero Lacagnina (keyboards)
Luca Scherani (keyboards)
Marc Papeghin (French horn, trumpet)
Marco Vincini (vocals)
Stefano Galifi (vocals)
Alessio Calandriello (vocals)
Daniel Fäldt (vocals)
Alessandro Corvaglia (vocals)
Camilla Rinaldi (vocals)
Paula Pörsti (vocals)

Track Listing:
1. The Tricky Fiddler (6:03)
2. Searching for the Fear (9:42)
3. The Devil With the Three Golden Hairs (10:34)
4. The Travelling Musicians (11:01)
5. The White Snake (17:37)
6. The Tricky Fiddler �" Reprise (2:09)

Added: January 17th 2022
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 671
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by