Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Power Paladin: With The Magic Of Windfyre Steel

The debut album of Power Metal sextet Power Paladin from Iceland, the land of Extreme Metal, showcases a very melodic mix of highly listenable yet heavy tunes that will have you humming the riff to the first track before you get through the first minute! The album was produced by the band, and released on January 7th, 2022 on Atomic Fire Records.

The band consists of Ingi Þórisson and Bjarni Þór Jóhannsson on guitars, Atli Guðlaugsson on vocals, Bjarni Egill Ögmundsson on keyboards, Einar Karl Júlíusson on drums and Kristleifur Þorsteinsson on bass. There is a definite 80’s/early 90’s Metal vibe to this album as the band have noted Iron Maiden, Dio and Helloween as influences. However, there are also more modern influences such as HammerFall, Rhapsody and Edguy, as well. I also detect a hint of Stratovarius, too.

“Kraven The Hunter” - named after one of Spider-Man’s most notorious villains -starts us off with a furious drum/guitar intro before launching into the heavy yet melodic riff. Everything about this track screams “Power”! Killer drums, great guitars, awesome vocals, and the solo - incredible! Excellent opening track and my favorite from this album.

“Righteous Fury” continues in the melodic up-tempo vein but with a few growled vocals added for color. Double-bass drums push this track along at breakneck speed, and the harmony vocals add an excellent touch, as well. The guitars kick ass too! “Evermore” starts off with some tasteful keyboard work before launching into another up-tempo, head-banging beast - complete with some great harmony guitars! “Way of Kings” is up next, and incorporates more great vocals, another killer melodic riff, great guitar solos, and is arguably my other favorite track! Or maybe it’s “Dark Crystal” …?! It’s so difficult to choose because there are so many excellent tracks on this album. And all of ‘em fast! Ballads?? We don’t need no stinkin’ ballads!

If you like Power Metal, check out Power Paladin, an excellent entry into the Power Metal pantheon.

Track List:

  1. Kraven The Hunter
  2. Righteous Fury (featuring Oskar Rúnarsson)
  3. Evermore
  4. Dark Crystal (featuring Oskar Rúnarsson)
  5. Way Of Kings
  6. Rode The Distant Storm
  7. Creatures Of The Night
  8. Into The Forbidden Forest
  9. There Can Be Only One

Added: January 11th 2022
Reviewer: Mark Rabuffo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 708
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by