Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Joseph Lamm + Music Hypnotica: The Forgiving Sea

Joseph Lamm is a writer/composer/musician whose music I am not completely familiar with although I did review his 2016 album titled Andean’s Ascent. He is back with his seventh release titled The Forgiving Sea, a project he teams with artist Carolyn Springer, featuring her oil paintings set to Lamm’s music. I believe this is the third album he has worked with Music Hypnotica.

The disc begins nicely with “Early Evening Ocean”, featuring tasty acoustic and electric guitar, quite restrained and with a transfixing chilled out vibe. Its both enjoyable and relaxing. I even hear a little Floyd in some of the keyboard work. This is followed by “Turbulence”, an eclectic/acoustic guitar led tune that has some cool note choices and wonderful dynamics. This is quite a varied listen, as demonstrated by “Past Pain”, a completely different beast than the previous two tracks. A surging keyboard accompanied with neat effects leads into a crisp, hard driving rock tune. The vibe is more urgent, and the guitar work is very good. With “Ambient Wave”, a gentle keyboard and unusual background guitar effects will settle into your senses, leaving a bit of melancholy in its wake. Another cool piece is ‘Treading Water” with its creative use of loop technology and smartly layered acoustic guitar.

The Forgiving Sea is both melodic and challenging and was able to easily hold my attention for its relatively short length. Give it a shot and see what you think.

The players are:
Joseph Lamm (lead and backing vocals, keyboards, percussion, drum programming)
Elliott Lamm (acoustic, classical, and electric guitars, bass, percussion, mouth harp, backing vocals)
Louis Imperiale (keyboards, piano, trumpet)
George Tyler (drums)
Jeff Stone (bass)
Carolyn Springer (lead and backing vocals, spoken word on “Early Evening Ocean”)
Lillian Rademacher (backing vocals)
Lani Williams (lead and backing vocals)
David Price (atmospheres, additional programming)

Track Listing:
1. Early Evening Ocean
2. Turbulence
3. Past Pain
4. Ambient Wave
5. Treading Water
6. Hyperwave
7. Fuera De La Costa Espanola
8. Give It To The Sea

Added: January 9th 2022
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 85
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by