Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Zelbo: In My Dreams

Very colourful artwork, pristine Melodic Rock and a pinch of classic Progressive Rock effectively produces the Norwegian four-piece project Zelbo and believe you me their debut record is a creatively strong output to say the least.

Launched from the ashes of the keyboard mastermind Dag Selboskar, ultimately known for his work in the band Da Vinci, there is definitely no messing around on the mesmerising offering of In my Dreams and consistently it delivers with the pure AOR effect, alongside some thickly dense keyboard work that essentially has Yes, Styx and even Marilllion buttered all over it.

Firing highlights are distributed in the illustrative form of the pompously Styx induced ‘Next Flight to Venus’, which for me is the best track on the entire album, and fundamentally the excellence of the neatly crafted ‘Phoenix Rising’ just both completely do it for me with that complete sense of a driving direction. I cannot recommend these efforts any more, Zelbo certainly know how to write catchy songs with a smothering of easy on the ear lyrics that efficiently escorts passion and pride with a source of that musical brilliance we all desire.

Other honourable mentions come forth in the shape of the in-your-face title track opener ‘In My Dreams’, the sweet sounding melodious number of ‘Small Town Girl that is once again one that appears to be in the easy on the ear category, and additionally the momentous video single episode of ‘Fortune & Fame’ that makes this product as a whole unification a desirable affair for Melodic Rock, Prog and AOR fanatics to thoroughly enjoy. Yes, there a few outlets that do drop off in places but do not be fooled by this as they could end up be growers further down the line, so stick around for some of this musicality to click.

Foremost, I hope there is a bucket more to come from the Scandinavian quartet and I will be most definitely checking out their sophomore entry when that eventually gets released. In recommendation, this piece of musical presentation is unquestionably for fans of outfits in similar veins like Work of Art, Styx, Journey, Da Vinci and for those who admire their Melodic Rock to be in on the more Progressively minded side of the coin.

Track List:

  1. In My Dreams
  2. Fortune & Fame
  3. Phoenix Rising
  4. Head’s Down
  5. Wild, Young and Free
  6. Get Up Get Over It
  7. Beautiful Flyaway
  8. Next Flight to Venus
  9. Small Town Girl
  10. Waiting for the End
  11. Every Little Thing

Added: December 22nd 2021
Reviewer: James Mannion
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1169
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by