Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Grid/Fripp: Leviathan

This collaborative album features the electronic duo The Grid (Richard Norris and former Soft Cell member Dave Ball) teaming up with Robert Fripp for nearly 75 minutes of sonic exploration via Fripp’s guitar and renowned soundscapes and The Grid’s synth, drums, programming and effects.

Contrary to its name -- which references the giant mythical whale of the same name -- Leviathan is a gentle, ambient record that flows out of the speakers, through your body and into the great beyond. Tracks such as “Loom,” and the title track offer more sonic sustenance and textures than earlier tracks, and notable percussion finally enters the musical equation two-thirds of the way into the album, with “After the Rain.” The rhythmic “Fire Tower” emerges as the hottest track here, with The Grid and Fripp finding their full-on groove.

Included in the sparse packaging is a DVD-A featuring the audio tracks in stereo and 5.1 surround sound.

Track Listing:
1. Empire
2. Milkwood
3. Pulse Detected
4. Loom
5. Leviathan
6. After The Rain
7. Fire Tower
8. Zhora
9. Sympatico

Added: December 22nd 2021
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: The Grid on Facebook
Hits: 642
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by