Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Crommie, Daniel: Inner World

Portland, Ore.-based multi-instrumentalist Daniel Crommie kept himself busy in 2021, releasing three albums: Noisemaker in January, A Prelude to the New Normal in May and Inner World in November. All three were recorded at the same time and emerge as companion pieces that offer long-form synthesizer-heavier compositions for open-minded listeners.

The most recent of those titles, Inner World is an aptly named sonic exploration of deep rhythms accented with flute processed through vintage analogue electronics. Crommie adds such instruments as digital synths, electric dulcimer, piccolo, bowed psaltery and lyre -- weaving these all-instrumental songs around complex arrangements and wrapping them in warm layers.

Exotic, mystical and otherworldly yet oddly organic, authentic and anchored, Inner World (and much of Crommie’s work) recalls that of Brian Eno. But to these ears, Crommie’s compositions are more compelling and accessible. The six songs here stretch across almost an hour, but when you allow yourself to absorb them the way this prolific musician no doubt intended, you’ll lose track of time anyway.

Track Listing:
1. The Approximate First
2. Inner World
3. Eye Storm
4. Pale Blue Seraph
5. Desert Ash
6. Menace

Added: December 20th 2021
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Daniel Crommie on Bandcamp
Hits: 981
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by