Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Flying Norwegians: New Day

Here is another anomaly. The band is Flying Norwegians, hailing from, you guessed it, Norway. The thing is this band did not play your typical Scandinavian rock or metal. Wait for it…. they were a country band which has its roots dating back to the late ‘60s and officially forming in 1974 by guitarist Rune Walle and drummer Gunnar Bergstrøm. They released their first album titled New Day in 1974. There is a reason Apollon Records has seen fit to release the album, now remastered in all its original glory. Folks, this is a cracker of an album and that’s coming from someone who isn’t really a fan country music, although these last few years I have warmed up to some of it, mostly the old guard. The ‘new’ country is really just pop music, in my humble opinion.

The opening track “Young Man” where the catchy guitar lines and vocal harmonies scream ‘70s easy going country rock is a fine beginning. The tasty guitar work is all over this one. “Time’s Drawing Circles” is a traditional country ballad, very poignant with a nice guitar solo. The sunny “Those Were The Days” has an almost ‘island’ feel whereas as “Lucky Number” features bubbly keyboards and a funky guitar twang. The title track is another pretty ballad, very tuneful and melodic. The hooks keep on coming at you throughout the rest of the disc.

Throughout the ‘80s and ‘90s the band was on/off again and officially disbanded with the passing of Cato Sanden in 2005 (RIP). Although the band is no more, the great thing about music is that it always exists, just a couple clicks away. Even if you think you are not a fan of the country rock genre I urge you to check out the band and hear for yourself, New Day is in a word….excellent.

The band:
Rune Walle (guitars, lead vocals)
Gunnar Bergstrøm (drums)
Cato Sanden (lead vocals)
Jarle Zimmermann (keyboards, lead vocal)
Johannes Torkelsen (bass)

Track Listing:
1. Young Man (3:58)
2. Time’s Drawing Circles (3:41)
3. Those Were The Days (4:15)
4. Lucky Number (3:27)
5. New Day (5:57)
6. Behind The Words (3:56)
7. Spanish Tragedy (3:22)
8. Tricky Lies (3:06)
9. Human Need (2:50)
10. You’ll Come Around (6:00)
11. It Ain’t Just Another Blow (2:24)

Added: December 18th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 659
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by