Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tanyc: Tanyc

Arriving through the Gentle Art Of Music, the self titled album from Tanyc (Carmen Tannich-Wallner) is something of a side-step for the largely prog based label of RPWL pair Kalle Wallner and Yogi Lang. Both musicians also appear on this album, with the former responsible for guitars, bass, some keyboards and programming, as well as production, with Lang also adding some keys and programming. The rest of the band is made up of drummer Nir Z (Tall Stories/Genesis), Heiko Jung on bass, Stephen Weiser on grand piano, Tom Norris (violin/viola) and Aaron Brooks, who adds vocals on one song. However, even with all of that musical talent on display, one thing’s for sure and certain, this album revolves around Tanyc and her voice, with most of the songs sitting in gentle, atmospheric pop territory especially made to highlight the vocals. So it’s just as well that this young lady can sing - and then some - her voice immediately taking the excellent opener “Faster” and raising it far beyond the simple musical structures laid out.

From there the formula is repeated as contained pieces such as “Beautiful”, which has a loosely Beatles like air, find finely constructed, but reasonably uneventful music meandering along as the singer looks to add most, if not all of the colour. And for much of this album that’s exactly what Tanyc manages to do, but even factoring in just how magnetic her vocal presence can be, by the time you’ve reached pieces like the backwards masked float of “Labyrinth” you really do begin to crave for more. Admittedly, an instrumental break in this track does splash some intrigue on proceedings, but given the talent at this album’s disposal, it all feels like something of a waste when considering what might have been. That doesn’t make this self titled effort from this wonderfully characteristic singer bad, but it certainly causes much of it to become all too forgettable, even in a time where slow, steady, vocal led pop crossovers are very much the fashion. If that, for me, all too apparent issue could be rectified, there’s no doubt that all involved here have what it takes to offer up something much more exciting, but as it is, there’s simply not enough to keep you occupied as this album all too readily slips by.

Track Listing
1. Faster
2. Smile
3. Hide away
4. Beautiful
5. Again
6. Never and twice
7. Loops on fire
8. Honest
9. Labyrinth
10. This dream
11. Shoot
12. Over and over

Added: December 18th 2021
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Tanyc on facebook
Hits: 509
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by