Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Legions of the Night: Sorrow is the Cure

German Progressive Heavy/Power Metal trio Legions of the Night escort their shadows of sorrow into a powerful masterclass of an unique void of excellent musicianship to bind together a stronghold of some cleverly constructed harshness that works absolute wonders.

Consisting of Jens Faber and Philipp Bock of Germany's Power Metal favourites Dawn of Destiny, and the wonderful Henning Basse (ex-Metallium, ex-Firewind, ex-Sons of Seasons) on vocal duties - Legions of the Night is a project that is just that extra bit worthwhile and it fits together extremely well.

Moreover, the music on offer here throughout is astonishingly sublime and is a very diverse range of affairs that leaves no doubt in your mind that this is a genuinely superb collection of songs. Overall, it might take some time to click at first after that initial starting spin but when you get used to the bulk of this record as a whole it just is a very neat piece of work to digest.

Amongst the heaviness of the surrounding events, Basse is on phenomenal form and the riffing is beastly to work alongside his strong pipes. Episodes like the crushing 'Lie' and the brutally guitar-tastic 'We All Walk Alone' are proud entries that naturally displays a great intensity of work on this as a debut output from the European cavalry.

Mind-blowing eruptive outlets running like lava flowing fast, elegantly comes in the effective shapes of the grand-esque opener 'Train to Knowhere' and the pounding anthemic traits of the fantastic 'Walls of Sorrow' that unite majestically, and alongside these there are the further entries like the wicked crunch closing cover version of Savatage's 'Sirens' and the tremendously powerful title track 'Sorrow is the Cure' with some inspiring performances to weigh in on to add to the Heavy Metal playlists going forward.

All-inclusively, I would say in a nutshell we need more Legions of the Night and soon rather than later. This sorrowful elite does remind of Sons of Seasons slightly but without the overuse of keys and strange effects, however this has something a bit more special than that as a whole and the melodious wavelengths have much more inspiring adventures to discuss than anything I have heard come from Basse in a very long while or any projects he has been involve in years.

Track List:
1. Train to Knowhere
2. Lie
3. Walls of Sorrow
4. Find the Truth
5. Someday Somewhere
6. We All Walk Alone
7. Shoot and Save
8. Sorrow is the Cure
9. Pay the Price
10. Rescue Me
11. Sirens (Savatage Cover)

Added: December 17th 2021
Reviewer: James Mannion
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 881
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by