Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Beledo: Seriously Deep

Beledo is a multi-instrumentalist (guitarist/pianist) based in New York City, and is joined by drummer Kenny Grohowski (Brand X/PAKT) who is a very busy man these days! The trio is rounded out by bass Legend Tony Levin (King Crimson/Peter Gabriel). The 14+ minute title track is a moody atmospheric piece, an Eberhard Weber composition that has been rearranged by Beledo. The piece floats, a somber beauty in the piano lines, Belodo’s guitar slowly emerges, adding complex lines in the Holdsworth tradition. The foundational music to this piece is trance like, and when the band returns to the basic structure, it is sparse, stark, and engaging. At about the 10 minute mark things begin to ramp up with more of Beledo’s legato guitar runs, and the piano gets an opportunity to stretch out, a wonderful ending to this enchanting piece of music. “Mama D” has more of a live in the studio feel to it, less atmospheric and more direct. The guitar reminds me of Wayne Krantz as it carries the melody. Guest vocalist Kearoma Rantao appears, she has a very pleasing voice. This one features some stellar soloing from Beledo with Levin and Grohowski building the tension underneath. “Coasting Zone” features more nice guitar chording from Beledo, this is more angular than the previous songs. Beledo again displays his prowess with some monster soloing, and at this point I have been won over. “Maggie’s Sunrise” is a beautifully melodic track, subtle gorgeous piano, but the kicker is the vibraphone playing of Jorge Camiruaga. “A Temple in the Valley” goes sideways due to guest vocalist Boris Savoldelli, and the only saving grace here is a bit of soloing from Beledo. Guitar swells open the atmospheric “Knocking Waves”, as this track and the closing “Into the Spirals” were improvised live in the studio.

Seriously Deep shows the excellent guitar and keyboard skills of Beledo, and I enjoy the variation in compositions. I much prefer the instrumentals over the vocal tracks, and hope to dive further into his music.

Track Listing

  1. Seriously Deep
  2. Mama D
  3. Coasting Zone
  4. Maggie’s Sunrise
  5. Knocking Waves
  6. A Temple In The Valley
  7. Into The Spirals

Added: December 12th 2021
Reviewer: Eric Porter
Related Link: Artists @ Bandcamp
Hits: 613
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by