Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

We Butter The Bread With Butter: Das Album

It would be a complete lie to suggest that I’ve waited, knife in hand, for the return of German electro-metalcore outfit WBTBWB - even the CD cover, spine and the disc itself can’t be arsed using the full name, We Butter The Bread With Butter - to return after six years in the wilderness. But, whatever the cause of that layoff, the band, or should I say, duo once again, have completely realigned their inner workings, the original two man line-up of multi-instrumentalist Marcel ‘Marci’ Nuemann and singer Tobias ‘Tobi’ Schultka reuniting. With only these two now buttering the half-loaf, a situation that hasn’t been the case since their 2008 debut - Schultka departed after 2010’s ‘full-band’ effort Der Tag An Den Die Welt Unterging - hopes were high for a return to the pair’s classic metal core + more attack and that’s pretty much what Das Album delivers.

Aside from the short, and pointless, instrumental opener, if your heart hankers after bulging metal riffs and growled chanting vocals, but all with an infusion of electro edges, then this is the album for you. With elements of dance, hip-hop, and much else appearing throughout, in truth, Das Album takes me well out of my comfort zone and when the vocals on “20kmh” intentionally m-m-m-m-m-m-m-m-m-mimic the Crazy Frog, I was close to folding and going home. And yet, in amongst some brash keyboard stabs, the jaw shattering guitars and almost Gollum does growls of “Schreibwarenfachverkäufer” is surprisingly difficult to resist. It’s a trait throughout, the thunder of the rolling riff and shouts of “Jump ’n’ Run” completely offset by computer game alike bleeps, bloops and surges. In all honesty it should be a car crash, or at least (the crazy) Frogger should be worried about being squished as he crosses the road, but the earnestness with which this almost intentionally silly sortie is set out keeps you hooked in. Do I ever need to hear the parps and swooshes of “Sprich sie einfach an” ever again? Probably not and yet, knowing that it will end with a mighty slam of guitars and hammering drums means that if I ever did, I sure wouldn’t complain.

Somehow WBTBWB manage on Das Album to walk the micro-thin line between throwaway fluff and serious metal monstrousness. That’s probably not enough to entice me fully into their fold but if you’ve always had a soft spot for the band’s debut, then get ready for the buttering of your life - even if the bread on the album’s cover is actually toast…

Track Listing
1. Das Album Intro
2. Dreh auf!
3. 20 km/h
4. N!CE
5. Schreibwarenfachverkäufer
6. Läuft
7. Jump ‘n’ Run
8. Sprich sie einfach an
9. Meine Finger sind zu klein
10. Piks mich
11. Metal
12. Angriff der Dönerteller
13. Letzter Song

Added: December 11th 2021
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Das Album online
Hits: 766
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by