Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

One Desire: One Night in Helsinki

Following the release of their 2020 sophomore effort Midnight Empire, the ambitious Finnish Melodic Rocking crew One Desire look to impress a jam packed audience with a fully loaded album release party that nicely puts this onto a CD & DVD output for all to very much enjoy and endure for the first time ever.

One Desire are very well known for their catchy numbers with striking hooks, whilst staying fresh and keeping that Hard Rock feel going all at the same time, and for the duration they do achieve gracefully by winnning over the favouring crowd in the night and also, they keep us all entertained in the meantime.

Rising forth with new entries like the swift opener 'Shadowman' and the highly electrifying show stormer 'Heroes'; the new material becomes an instantly welcomed source that slides in with the old package and formula rather superiorly with no issues arising at all.

Further on, honourable mentions go out to the sleezy slave to the grind ridden outlet 'Down and Dirty' and the coolly crafted track 'Godsent Extasy'; severely claiming to be contemporary favourites amongst cards in the deck and they easily are holding their own ground within the strong bulk of the setlist this evening.

As one would guess, there are many entries included from the outfits self-titled debut record and they are distributed extremely well in the spreadout patches that they appear on amongst the roots of this brand new live offering created by the Scandavian cavalry.

Epic episodes like the massively favoured hit 'Hurt' and the Heavy Metal anthemic closer 'Buried Alive' just totally hit the spot with an ultimate ease, and with no trouble the crowd are simply pleased along with the listeners too.

Even the ballads are completely triumphant inside the walls and the emotions running through the lyrical themes on display here and they just appear to be right where they should be with some R.E.O Speedwagon vibes alongside some Neal Schon style shredding from guitarist Jimmy Westerlund. Both 'Falling Apart' and the superbly written heart melter 'This is Where the Heart Break Begins' both deserve some excellent credit in their own right as they just neatly sit well in the mixture, keeping things moving along quite nicely and effectively for the efficiency of the music delivery on offer.

One Desire have pieced together a sublime debut live entry and I am sure many will hope to catch them live on the road one day soon as from what I have heard here there is much more to come as for what this collection of live songs has proven to me so far and beyond.

Track List:
1. Shadowman
2. Apologize
3. Down and Dirty
4. Heroes
5. Godsent Extasy
6. This is Where the Heart Break Begins
7. Only When I Breathe
8. Falling Apart
9. After You've Gone
10. Whenever I'm Dreaming
11. Hurt
12. Buried Alive

Added: December 8th 2021
Reviewer: James Mannion
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 230
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by