Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mentulls, The: Recipe For Change

The Mentulls is another band previously unbeknownst to me. The British outfit has three albums to their credit with a new album titled Recipe For Change, the follow up to their 2015 release Reflections.

In the band are:
Jamie Pipe (keyboards)
Andrew Pipe (guitar)
David Neil Crabtree (vocals)
Wayne Proctor (drums)
Oli Brown (backing vocals)

What an outstanding album The Mentulls have created with Recipe For Change. This band has such a great ear for melody it really is something to behold. The hooks come at you in waves but that’s not the whole story. There is a sophisticated nature to their brand of pop rock that elevates this above standard fare. Think Cats In Space as a starting point. The lead off track “Easy To Walk Away” begins with a peppy guitar riff and drum rhythm that doesn’t let up through the entire track. Melodic keyboards join the party, trading lines with the guitarist with both musicians showing considerable skill. The lead vocalist is another strong attribute to the band’s melodic sound. His natural timbre will have your ears wanting more so if vocals are a sticking point with you, fear not as they are excellent throughout the disc. Next is the title track which has sophistication written all over it, sort of like recent Toto in that regard. Again, the guitars and keyboards are super catchy but full of substance just the same. A softer touch is felt with the poignant ballad “Opened My Eyes”, an optimistic look at life in general. The wonderfully melodic guitar solo hooked me immediately. More pop rock hooks can be heard on “Learning Through Living” where a little progginess reminded me of Cats In Space. That comparison can never be a bad thing in my book.

Classy pop rock is what you get with Recipe For Change. A nice surprise indeed.

Track Listing:
1. Easy To Walk Away
2. Recipe For Change
3. Opened My Eyes
4. Learning Through Living
5. Summit Fever
6. Saviour
7. Find A Way To This Journey’s End
8. Smoke & Mirrors
9. Worlds Made Of Sound

Added: November 7th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 814
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by