Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Professor Tip Top: Tomorrow Is Delayed

An album title is worth a thousand words. Yes, I know, that is not exactly how it goes but Bergen, Norway’s Professor Tip Top’s sixth effort titled Tomorrow Is Delayed could not be more apt, given the situation we all find ourselves in. That and the album cover, very cool by the way, with something that looks like a virus, well, you get the picture.

Professor Tip Top formed back in 2011 and so far, I have reviewed a couple of their albums, Exobiology (2016) and Hybrid Hymns (2019), both earning an excellent four stars. Tomorrow Is Delayed was released in 2020 and continues the band's string of quality releases. In the band are:

Sonja Otto (lead vocal, Hammond organ, Memotron m2k)
Sam Fossbakk (guitars, EMS synthi, Moog model D, Memotron m2k, vocal)
Stein Hoegseth (bass)
Charles Wise (drums)

The psychedelic touches the band explored on previous releases are even more accentuated here starting with the album opening track “Erebus”. I absolutely love Sonja’s voice, a kind of homage to the ‘60s and fits beautifully within their psychedelic progressive sound. The guitar and keyboard work in tandem crafting a retro psychedelic flavour and the background synths and Hammond give off a spacey mood. “Inside The Mirror” begins with a lovely choral build and the crystalline guitar is beautifully recorded with each note defining a signature sound. Eventually the tempo changes gears and the riffs get darker as the synths twist and swirl amidst a psychedelic haze. With “Under Crystal Stars” the tricky rhythmic pattern is followed by Hammond creating a superb groove and all the while Mellotron percolates in the background. The band’s Floyd influence can be heard on the mellow “The Ghost Within” featuring excellent Hammond and wonderful Floyd-like guitar flavourings.

Tomorrow Is Delayed is my favourite Tip Top album thus far, and that, my friends is no small feat. Absolutely recommended!

Track Listing:
1. Erebus (3:28)
2. Inside The Mirror (7:08)
3. Under Crystal Stars (4:02)
4. The Ghost Within (5:56)
5. Tomorrow Is Delayed (5:36)
6. Beneath The Silence (7:43)
7. Objet petit a (6:11)
8. Earth (3:05)

Added: October 16th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band on Facebook
Hits: 605
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by