Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Jackson, Robert: Twilight Theatre

Earlier this year I reviewed Robert Jackson’s Personal Jesus album originally released in 1998. I quite liked his take on catchy ‘70s inspired melodic rock. Here is another release from Jackson, this one a two CD set titled Twilight Theatre. As you might imagine given the title this is Jackson’s foray into Halloween music, you know all things horror and the paranormal, from Stonehenge, to witches, to U.F.O.s. Spoken word introductions are used to introduce each track, giving a history lesson in the process. I would have preferred these narrations be done in a creepier way so as to segue into the track better, but this is just a matter of opinion. Still learned some interesting tidbits listening to these intros.

Twilight Theatre is overall, a pretty good rock album, with hints of metal. I hear a little Blue Oyster Cult, maybe some Black Sabbath, although this is a low budget affair. The fuzzy riffs in “Land of 1000 Suns” give off a sludgy vibe and the squelching lead guitar is pretty cool and fits the theme. “Gypsy In The Night” is a nice hard rock song with hints of Blue Oyster Cult while “The Eyes of Nostradamus” has some cool electric guitar sounds setting an edgy mood along with mellow acoustic strumming at song’s end. The vocals on “Black Witch” are somewhat flat but the guitar riffs still make it worth a listen. One of my favourites is the heavy metal bombast of “Eye of Newt” where Jackson lays down a stomping guitar riff summoning his inner Black Sabbath.

There are a total of thirty-three tracks and almost eighty-six minutes of music. While it is far from perfect, around Halloween this might go down pretty well.

Track Listing:
Act I (CD I)
1. Introduction Twilight Theatre (0:28)
2. Introduction Stonehenge (0:43)
3. Land of 1000 Suns (4:36)
4. Introduction Gypsies (0:52)
5. Gypsy In The Night (2:44)
6. Introduction Nostradamus (1:31)
7. The Eyes of Nostradamus (5:25)
8. Introduction Witchcraft (1:09)
9. Black Witch (3:58)
10. Introduction Eye of Newt (0:22)
11. Eye of Newt (4:44)
12. Introduction Salem (0:55)
13. Witch Witch (2:16)
14. Introduction Voodoo (1:01)
15. Zombies Creeping (3:03)
16. Introduction Spiritualism (0:47)
17. Ligeia The Spirit (6:27)

Act II (CD II)
1. Introduction Uncle Jed’s Farm (0:57)
2. Uncle Jed (4:54)
3. Introduction Spiders (0:59)
4. The Year of The Spider (4:28)
5. Introduction Monsters (1:49)
6. Monster Strut (2:16)
7. Introduction UFO’s (1:34)
8. The Force Is In The Sky (5:20)
9. Introduction Twins (0:43)
10. Evil Twin (5:04)
11. Introduction Shadow (1:30)
12. Shadow (3:54)
13. Introduction Genocide (1:10)
14. Genocide (3:39)
15. Journey’s End/Introduction Nightmare (1:38)
16. Nightmare (4:37)

Added: September 23rd 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 435
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by