Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Abraham, Lee: Only Human

From the moment his Pictures In The Hall debut arrived in 2003, Lee Abraham, who is also now an integral member of the Galahad team, has quickly become synonymous with the UK, melodic progressive rock scene. Only Human is the guitarist, bassist, keyboard player’s ninth solo album, although he has had a hand in many more, and there’s little doubt that it further cements the multi-instrumentalist’s place as one of the brightest lights in the progressive rock sky.

Enlisting the help of two quite wonderful vocalists - Marc Atkinson (Riversea) and Peter Jones (Tiger Moth Tales/Cyan) - Abraham opens his latest account, Only Human, with the quite beautiful, near thirty minute statement that is the four part “Counting Down”. Poised and expertly crafted, much like almost everything Abraham puts his name to, even in this elongated configuration, this track proves catchy, memorable and in the possession of some unbelievably fine musicianship. The arrangements are sublime and as you move through the four segments, so little reminders are scattered and then gathered up again for you to take hold of and enjoy. A quite marvellous guitarist, where Abraham also excels is in knowing where and when to reveal some magnificent soloing, but the type that never interferes with the flow and majesty of the sounds being embellished. Abraham can play, but safe in the knowledge that both he and we already know this, the need to remind us all is shelved in place of simply filling out the careful spaces left for the splashes of colour provided.

Unsurprisingly given events, the inspiration behind the album is pulled from experiences we have all shared - alone and together - over the past couple of years and as such it would be wrong to suggest that everything here makes for a joyful journey. Just experience the mournful guitar that opens the album to understand the emotion that Abraham’s writing skill allows to flow from his chosen instrument. Joined, once again, by Credo drummer Gerald Mulligan, and piano player Rob Arnold, Abraham’s Galahad band mate Mark Spencer turns up to help out on backing vocals and as a collective, the group assembled are mighty indeed.

The rest of this album isn’t outshone by the opening epic, with the title track an insistent combination of patient pacing and chorus hooks, while “Days Gone By” brings an uplifting melancholy to proceedings. And that’s a theme continued by the hugely memorable “Falling Apart”, before “The Hands Of Time” concludes this quite fantastic journey in magnificent style. Lee Abraham may be Only Human, but his music has the ability to take on a power and shape way beyond that modest station, with this latest album illustrating those properties quite majestically.

Track Listing
1. Counting Down
2. Only Human
3. Days Gone By
4. Falling Apart
5. The Hands of Time

Added: September 19th 2021
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Lee Abraham online
Hits: 652
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by