Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Skanners: Greatest Hits

When Italian heavy metal veterans Skanners came to an agreement with Music For The Masses the stage was set for this release. A Greatest Hits compilation celebrating the 40 years of the band's history and the 35th anniversary of its discography.

Greatest Hits spans their entire history, lifting tracks from their early classics, “Dirty Armada” and “Pictures of War”, and continuing through to the present day, rounding out the tracklisting with a brand new and 80’s faithful track in “Under the Grave”. This album showcases the many facets of the band, their obvious playing chops, ability to write catchy melodies and their capability to shift gears from classic heavy metal in the style of Accept, to more of the late 80’s speed metal vibe. Also incorporating elements of pop metal and even power ballads with a slight early power metal edge. However the mix of styles is fairly seamless and the album flows nicely. Even as they get into the second half of the album, where they begin to add some of the 90’s elements of grunge, alternative rock and groove metal, it still retains a solid consistency and even if at times the riffs are derivative or generic each of the songs has exciting and explosive moments that fans of classic heavy metal will definitely enjoy.

I have to admit, I’d never heard this band before writing this review, so this music is new to me. So hearing it with new ears and no expectations I have to say I found it an enjoyable and fun listen. Some of the standout tracks are the hard rocking “TV Shock” which comes out of the gate hard and fast yet also instantly catchy, replete with guitar tapping and even moments of choral additions and gun shot samples. Good fun stuff.

“Starlight” which bursts out in pure speed metal glory with plenty of fist pumping fun. Again retaining the catchiness.

Then we get songs like “Undertaker” which has the stamp of 90’s groove metal mixed into the sound. Not really my thing, but still makes the song standout.

And the epic “Flagellum Dei” which has some nice stand out vocal performances from Front man Claudio Pisoni.

Other tracks on the album that I’m less fond of include the ballad-like “Wild” , the song that sounds like an 80’s high school movie soundtrack, “Turn It Louder Now” , and the Twisted Sister like “Rock Rock City” are planted more in the pop metal of the 80’s and at times feel a little weaker. They handle it quite well though, so for those who like that style then I’m sure those fans will enjoy it.

Pisoni’s vocals are at times a little thin sounding during some of the tracks and yet very powerful in others. So a bit of inconsistency on that front. The production at times isn’t the greatest either, perhaps a little too safe with some of the raw power lacking at times, but it’s not so bad as to make it unlistenable. Overall though I think despite some of the weaker elements here, this Greatest Hits album is still a very enjoyable, easy to digest, fun and rockin’ heavy metal album with plenty of songs and individual moments that fans of classic heavy metal will enjoy.


Track Listing:
1. TV Shock
2. Rock Rock City
3. Starlight
4. Pictures of War
5. Turn It Louder Now
6. Wild
7. Undertaker
8. Metal Party
9. Flagellum Dei
10. Time of War
11. Soul Finder
12. Welcome to Hell
13. Factory of Steel
14. Hard and Pure
15. The Eye
16. Under the Grave

Added: August 21st 2021
Reviewer: Benjamin Dudai
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 651
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by