Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Passionfix: This And That

The rather misleadingly titled This And That isn’t an odds and sods collection from Baltimore band Passionfix, instead being this outfit’s seventh offering of all new material. To say that the band remain low-key would be something of an understatement, with a quick Google finding virtually nothing about them coming to the fore, while even the Tube of You draws a blank. You can instead head to the band’s website (linked below) to sample this album, where you’ll find the rather magnificent voice of Kelly Secret a confident, welcoming presence that truly surrounds you. Musically Passionfix describe themselves as ‘adult alternative’, which in truth isn’t really all that helpful when it comes to pinning down what they do.

The gentle piano and violin of “If I Could” offers a glimpse into many styles, the often theatrical (in a very good way) vocals still sitting confidently within a stripped back framework that isn’t quite country, isn’t quite pop and certainly isn’t rock. “I’m Still Me” on the other hand slithers along in a surprisingly (and intentionally I’d guess) dowdy fashion, thrumming but restrained bass from Mike Kearney laying a foundation from which the almost languid REM-like guitar lines from Dave Kelly attempt to light a spark. For me, it’s all a little tame and restrained and while the sound is clear and sharp, I can’t help but wonder what this track would have been like if it suddenly upped the tempo halfway through to sharpen the attack. And that’s a theme throughout, with the ‘adult’ aspect in their own estimations seeming to constrain much on This And That from truly bursting into life. That may well be this band’s calling card but as first impressions go, I can’t pretend to have been anything other than underwhelmed - not at every individual song, but certainly towards this album as an over all listening experience. The lyrics are heartfelt, if a little literal, and as previously mentioned, Secret is quite simply a real talent - just listen to the shining vocals on “The Highway” to hear that this lady should be a star - but for me, what This And That truly needs is something a little more special in the songwriting department, especially across a lengthy 18 track effort such as this.

Track Listing
1. This And That
2. If I Could
3. Just Another Tattoo
4. A Day Like This
5. I’m Still Me
6. The Highway
7. Do You Remember Me?
8. Machine
9. Things
10. New Day
11. Hold On
12. Frozen
13. Keepers
14. Levitate
15. Intrinsic
16. No Shelter
17. Gave It Away
18. Flow Me

Added: August 6th 2021
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Passionfix online
Hits: 710
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by