Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tiano, Mike: Creétisvan

The man responsible for shining a light on Yes, via the internet and creating the fanzine Notes From the Edge brought together an impressive group of musicians for his new album titled Creétisvan. Some of the players include Billy Sherwood, Randy George, David Sancious and many others. I believe this is Mike Tiano’s first album and to say I had no idea what to expect is an understatement. Well, after spinning this one a couple times I have come away duly impressed. Mike’s vocals are understated, tuneful and nuanced fitting beautifully within the creative arrangements. His guitar is also prevalent throughout the disc and he is a gifted player as well, not really flashy but playing the right notes at the right time. His acoustic guitar work is very nice adding a folksiness which is much appreciated when combined with the many symphonic embellishments. These twelve tracks really showcase Tiano’s singer/songwriter capabilities as well as his creative, progressive side. It really is just the right mix of pop and melodic/symphonic prog.

The first track “There Behind You” has an understated dreaminess with nuanced symphonic backdrops and Tiano’s melodic lead vocals. His sensitive use of acoustic guitar adds to the song’s charming nature and the late ‘60s pop vibe is a welcome treat as is the Steve Howe-like lead guitar. “On Hold” begins with a telephone ringing, the setting almost reminding me of the iconic clocks in Pink Floyd’s “Time”. Acoustic guitar and creative use of keyboards makes this another excellent tune. “Constant Companion” is a short acapella piece, followed by “The Dark Ages”, another melodic gem. The acoustic based “Dance of the Little Guys” and the proggier “Different Drummer” highlighting some delightful electric guitar and a pretty creative arrangement are more solid tunes.

Creétisvan has been a nice surprise, completely out of left field, delivering twelve well thought out tracks, revealing excellent playing, fine songcraft and Tiano’s wonderful melodies. All fans of sophisticated pop and progressive rock should not hesitate to give this a listen. Enjoy…

Track Listing:
1. There Behind You (6:43)
2. On Hold (5:16)
3. Constant Companion (0:30)
4. The Dark Ages (5:05)
5. Dance of the Little Guys (4:56)
6. Different Drummer (7:03)
7. Automaton (6:23)
8. A Natural (4:46)
9. The Evergreens (5:55)
10. Triad (4:26)
11. (Because) You Win (2:58)
12. Emerge Triumphant (4:56)

Added: June 29th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1838
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by