Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Poverty's No Crime: A Secret to Hide

After five long years, Lower Saxony's Progressive Metallers Poverty's No Crime bring forth their eighth opus and they commit to sharing their own tales of philosophy, hope and loss with an ambitiously packed haul of eight brand new tracks for the Metal community to enjoy.

For those unfamiliar with the German Progressive bunch, this elite brings a fine stretch of musical devotion with a range of emotional moods that is expressed cleverly through musical Chambers hitting and visiting complicated places; easily combining all the usual elements of the Progressively minded genre to evidently capture that disjointed feel for an interesting listen to say the least.

Comprehensively, the eight impressive outputs smothered onto this contemporary record named A Secret to Hide, really delivers well and it can be witnessed through the likes of the enjoyable listens of the fantastically arranged outing 'Flesh and Bone', the quality chain links on the brilliant 'Grey to Green' and the masterly developments on the magnificent opener 'Supernatural'.

For the most part, A Secret to Hide conveys it's elements successfully, however I do feel myself getting a little lost at times on a few occasions listening to this record and it cam take me time to retreat to try to get myself back into the atmosphere of A Secret to Hide, however this is not necessarily a bad thing.

Tracks like the wavy outgoings of 'Schizophrenic' and the passages layered on the long winded epic 'In the Shade' make me lose a bit of interest, not to an huge extent but it is enough for me not to be insanely hooked on those particular sections and I would rather listen to the other tracks more as they appear to be more appealing with a stronger collection of those catchy hooks I sure love.

On the other side of things, an honourable mention must significantly go out to the absolutely stunning particles presented on 'Within the Veil'; where Tegeler, Ahrens, Walsemann, Spaarmann and Springub are just on top form and this for me is the best number on this entire benefaction. For me this is really a successful and solid eighth effort from the superior Poverty's No Crime and I feel that this is an absolute must anthology for fanatics of Progressive Hard Rock, pristine musicianship and those connecting walls pursued inside the edges of that Heavy Metal musicality we all surely know well.

Track list:
1. Supernatural
2. Hollow Phrases
3. Flesh and Bone
4. Grey to Green
5. Within The Veil
6. The Great Escape
7. Schizophrenic
8. In the Shade

Added: May 22nd 2021
Reviewer: James Mannion
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 813
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by