Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Frank, Herman: Two For a Lie

German guitar player, Herman Frank, best known for being a member of Accept during their Balls To The Wall era, is back with another of his metallic charged solo albums, Two For A Lie (AFM Records). Being a part of the German metal scene since the beginning of the 80’s, starting with Accept then onto Victory to his solo project (which was launched in 2009), Herman Frank has kept busy over the years helping to keep German Metal alive and well.

This 2021 release, Two For A Lie, continues that Teutonic Metal tradition with 10 furious and heavy tunes for fans of that traditional Euro Metal sound. Two For A Lie is the 5th installment of the Herman Frank solo album story and it is a seamless continuation of the hard and heavy ways of the first four.

Sticking to the, “If it ain’t broken, don’t fix it” idea, Herman Frank once again has Masterplan vocalist, Rick Altzi, providing the vocals, and Jaded Heart bassist, Michael "Mülli" Müller, as well as new guitarist, Mike Pesin and drummer Kevin Kott on board to round out this 2021 line-up.

Much like albums past, Herman Frank brings the heavy with massive guitar play that features razor-sharp riffs and blazing solos. Altzi's vocals are familiar and strong, while the rhythm section grooves and sets the weighty foundation. Tunes like the album opener and video, “Teutonic Order” say “Pandemic Be Damned”, while “Eye Of The Storm” and “Stand And Fight” continue with a full steam ahead power and conviction.

Two For A Lie was produced by Herman Frank together with co-producer Arne Neurand in Hannover Germany and it sounds excellent. Tight, crisp and heavy, exactly what you want out of a Metal record. While there isn’t exactly any new ground covered within Two For A Lie, that’s not a bad thing! You get what you’d expect from Herman Frank and if you have loved his previous efforts, you’ll absolutely love this full on, 10 tracks full of Traditional Metal.

Herman Frank (guitars)
Rick Altzi (vocals)
Kevin Kott (drums)
Michael Müller (bass)
Mike Pesin (guitars)

Track Listing
1 - Teutonic Order
2 - Venom
3 - Hate
4 - Eye Of The Storm
5 - Liar
6 - Hail The New Kings
7 - Just A Second To Lose
8 - Danger
9 - Stand Up And Fight 10 - Open Your Mind

Added: May 19th 2021
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 718
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by