Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

GC Project: Two of a Kind

GC Project is led by Italian drummer Giacomo Calabria. Their debut Face The Odds was released in 2015 followed by their 2019 sophomore effort titled Two of a Kind. I had never heard the band before receiving Two of a Kind for review and as is so often the case I was not entirely sure what to expect. I will say up front this has been a pleasant surprise. On the album, Calabria is joined by many musicians contributing bass (Diego Quarantotto, Marco Govani, Gb Giorgi), guitar (Lorenzo Lenzi, Davide Montorsi, Omar Macchione), keyboards (Roberto Arduini, Valentino Bosi, Enrico Lorenzini, Denis Borgatti, Federico Fabbri) and vocals (Francesco Grandi, Jennie Huston, Alessandro Rubino, Elisa Boscarol, Maurizio Malaguti).

The band’s music is best described as progressive metal, heavy prog and fusion styles. The disc begins with “Desert In The Sky” beginning with an ominous sound followed by a cool pulsating bass, crashing chords and complex drum fills. Tasty keyboards and strong lead vocals, slightly accented but not a problem for me, synth and guitar solos, with a hint of fusion, keeps the track’s interest at a very high level. “The Land Of Broken Dreams” has hints of Rush in its progressive metal core as well as huge organ embellishments and a rather nice synth solo. The instrumental “The Great Red Spot Of Jupiter” is an excellent prog tune, the complex drum work is particularly inspiring. Cool synths and keys clash with heavier guitar riffs in the moody “Forget Me Again”, lots of edginess in this one and in “Black Rose” the pace is slowed with pretty female vocals and exemplary guitar work invoking a bluesier edge. The chorus is one of the album’s catchier moments.

Two of a Kind is a variable and highly enjoyable listen, crossing many genres and styles with consummate musicianship and strong melodies. As such, I can recommend this without hesitation.

A Slip Trick Records release.

Track Listing:
1. Desert In The Sky
2. The Land Of Broken Dreams
3. The Great Red Spot Of Jupiter
4. Forget Me Again
5. Black Rose
6. Restlessness
7. It’s All About
8. The Genius And The Magician
9. Through The Wind
10. 5 Seasons Of Sonora
11. The Westland
12. Two Of A Kind

Added: May 4th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band on Facebook
Hits: 234
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by