Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Icon of Sin: Icon of Sin

Hailing from Amazonian plains of Parana, Brazil, the ambitiously talented Heavy Metal brutes Icon of Sin bring forth their debut opus in a sublime form distributing their self-titled album Icon of Sin into the universe; charging on with a classic style of Metal and utilizing the grounds of their forefathers in the familiar pathways of the heavily immersed past endeavors.

Fronted by the bombastically boisterous Raphael Mendes, who of course is a dead ringer of a modern-era Bruce Dickinson, (Iron Maiden/ex-Samson), therefore the Brazilian crew neatly channel their upper integrity here and they profoundly use a prouder sense of grit within their delivery of a confined branch of musicianship throughout this contemporary record to completely escalate the mood; especially on the likes of tracks that come in the Illustrious shape of the brilliant opener 'Icon of Sin', the increasingly snappy spectacle of the night crawling 'Shadow Dancer' and the highly superior phenomenon that is the well-received monstrous single that is 'Night Breed' - awe-inspiringly hitting all the marks in the right places and catching a glimpse of glory to create a seasoning of Heavy Metal perfection with an ascending peak.

Alongside the ultimate strengths of Mendes, all the rest of the four members (Vidal, Dubiella, Cantaleano, Perez) nicely shine through with their quality performances and it can be witnessed through the progressive and the more divergent numbers like the Batman influenced 'Clouds Over Gotham' that pays tribute to the famous clown smothered comic 'The Killing Joke', the ninja striking elements of 'The Last Samurai, and finally the intense fragments of the diversified episode of' The Howling'.

Personally, I feel the first half of this offering has more of a denser and a more appealing outcome than the second chapter as a complete whole and for me the tracks appear to be packed with more of a punch to comfortably catch the ear of the listener with an effective ease.

Additionally, the flow is insanely better and that Heavy Metal mania formulaic adventure we as fanatics all look for is just there in plain sight; even so the hardened Rock expressions of the most basic tracks are easy winners on this first effort and they without a doubt grab attention like there is no time to live on this planet. I must say a hearty congratulations to Icon of Sin as this is notably a great and an impressive start to really let audiences hear the fine material on offer here from the Brazilian quintet for the very first time.

Track List:
  1. Icon of Sin
  2. Road Rage
  3. Shadow Dancer
  4. Unholy Battleground
  5. Night Breed
  6. Virtual Empire
  7. Pandemic Euphoria
  8. Clouds Over Gotham
  9. Arcade Generation
  10. Hagakure
  11. The Last Samurai
  12. The Howling
  13. Survival Instinct

Added: May 2nd 2021
Reviewer: James Mannion
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 820
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by