Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Nightfall: At Night We Prey

Nightfall is one of those important bands that lots of people know, even if they don’t necessarily follow them closely. That makes sense; the band’s strong rise to fame in the 1990s turned to a relative inconsistency in the 2000s that eventually led to complete silence after 2013. Founding member Efthimis Karadimas explains much of that silence as connected with a growing depression that first struck him in the early 2000s. Though initially private about his experiences with depression, he is now reflecting on them more openly so he can lend his strength to others who are also struggling. Some of that reflection can be found in the music on this album. This is a dark and gloomy album, filled with reflections on the dark and what lurks in the shadows.

For this album, the band’s first release in just over seven years, Karadimas teamed up with original guitarist, Mike Galiatsos (guitar). That was a good choice. Galiatsos’s playing was an important part of the band’s early success and he sounds just as good as ever. Joining Karadimas and Galiatsos are Kostas Kyriakopoulos (guitar) and Fotis Benardo (drums). On some tracks, you can also hear guest vocals by Eleni and Souzana Vougioukli.

I also want to mention that this is the band’s first release since they signed with Season of Mist Given that Season of Mist is also planning to release work from the band’s back catalogue, this could lead to a renewed interest in a band that risked going a bit overlooked. It will be exciting to see what the next few years brings with this new partnership.

As for the album, it sounds great. I’ve heard some people suggest that the band does some weird things on it, but that wasn’t necessarily my experience. I would certainly agree that the album has a variety of moods and that there are moments when the music goes in unexpected directions. I swear that it sometimes sounds like it’s bending or curving around itself. But that does not necessarily make this album some kind of late-career experiment or a desperate attempt to find a new voice. This isn’t an album about reinvention; it’s about exploring the darkness and, maybe, finding some hope. Yes, the album is uneven, but the strengths outweight the weaknesses.

For a good sampling of things, check out “Darkness Forever,” “Temenos,” “Meteor Gods,” and “Martyrs of the Dead.”

It’s good to hear Nightfall again.

Track Listing:
1. She Loved the Twilight
2. Killing Moon
3. Darkness Forever
4. Witches
5. Giants of Anger
6. Temenos
7. Meteor Gods
8. Martyrs of the Cult of the Dead (Agita)
9. At Night We Prey
10. Wolves in Thy Head

Added: April 15th 2021
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 496
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by