Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pymlico: On This Day

Pymlico is a band I have followed for a few years now having previously reviewed two of their previous releases; Meeting Point (2016) and Nightscape (2018). I enjoyed both albums very much. Now its time for the Norwegian band’s latest offering titled On This Day, released in the fall of 2020. The band play stylish instrumental music mostly in the realm of progressive fusion and jazz flavoured rock and pop. What stands out the most for me when listening to On This Day is the band’s supreme sense of melody and songcraft. For the jazzy component, trumpet, trombone and saxophone are skillfully used throughout the disc’s eight tracks, much more so than on the band’s previous releases. The disc has a tidy running time of around forty-five minutes, so it certainly does not overstay its welcome, sounding fresh and invigorating with each successive listen.

Right from the album’s first track “Heliotrope” the band is in fine melodic form making instrumental music that has that innate ability to permeate the listener’s brain. Sax, guitar and keyboards combine in a most satisfying way creating tasty prog fusion of the highest order. More outstanding song craft can be heard on “Time-Turner”, starting mellow and drifting between quieter keyboard backdrops and passionate guitar and sax solo breaks. The change in directions are subtle and smooth with the melody always close at hand. Trombone, trumpet and soaring sax give “Survival Guide” a jazz rock vibe with another uplifting melody. The horns return in the jazzy prog of “Real People” featuring nice synths, guitar and sax interplay. The trumpet and trombone work adds a bit of Big Band flavouring.

It would seem the band’s almost joyful sounds and positive vibes came at just the right time, as this year has been difficult for so many people. If music has the ability to heal and you are feeling down, put On This Day into your stereo and crank it up high. Absolutely recommended.

An Apollon Records release.

Track Listing:
1. Heliotrope (4:36)
2. Time-Turner (4:58)
3. Survival Guide (6:12)
4. Real People (6:34)
5. Partners In Crime (5:20)
6. Jump Start (4:48)
7. Sidemen Inc. (5:27)
8. Solex Agitator (6:59)

Added: April 10th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 613
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by