Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Livesays, The: The Rhythm of Love and Dysfunction

The Livesays are a five-piece rock outfit based out of South Florida. Led by Billy Livesay (guitars, lead vocals) who in part honed his craft performing and recording with the late Clarence Clements (RIP) band Temple of Soul, this is a band with a lot of heart and soul, no pun intended Huey Lewis and the News. Their latest album titled The Rhythm of Love and Dysfunction is their fourth overall and the follow up to their 2016 effort titled Hold On…Life Is Calling, which is also reviewed on this site. In 2019 the band’s original drummer Eddie Zyne tragically passed away and Howard Goldberg has taken over drum duties. Both musicians play on the album which is certainly a nice tribute to Eddie’s memory.

The Livesays play pure, heartfelt Americana inspired rock with elements of R&B, Soul and Blues. What jumped out at me almost immediately is just how catchy this album is. The vocal melodies, the riffs, the keyboards, including inspired piano and Hammond work all play a part in The Livesays’ musical DNA. The album begins with “There’s Something Coming Now” and its rootsy, bluesy sound. The vocals, piano and guitar solo come together to make a major earworm. “When I Dream” is another catchy midtempo rocker and is something Bruce Springsteen might come up with. With the mellower heartland rock of “Another Mile” the piano and vocal melodies really stand out as does the extremely catchy chorus while in the following track “Let It Flow”, alcohol is the subject in this one, the guitar riffs are edgier with much more bite including a ripping solo. Backing Hammond organ can also be heard. Although most of these tunes are original there are a couple of covers. Joni Mitchell’s “Woodstock” is given a rockier treatment and Henley’s “Heart Of The Matter”, where Livesay holds it close to the vest, not varying far from the original. His vocal here sounds uncannily like Henley. The guitar solo in the mid-tempo bluesy roots rocker “The Rhythm of Love” is another notable highlight.

The Rhythm of Love and Dysfunction is an uplifting and catchy slice of rock/pop that will appeal to fans of Springsteen, Petty and Zevon. I need to dig into more of Livesay’s stuff.

Track Listing:
1. There’s Something Coming Now (3:33)
2. When I Dream (4:08)
3. Another Mile (3:33)
4. Let It Flow (3:56)
5. Woodstock (4:18)
6. The Rhythm Of Love (5:09)
7. Better Than He Ever Was (4:08)
8. How Can I Be? (4:20)
9. That’s The Trouble With love (5:04)
10. Heart Of The Matter (5:15)
11. Better Than You (3:56)
12. Book Of Rules (4:36)
13. Can I Have (What You Have)? (4:20)

Added: April 10th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 642
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by