Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Void of Sleep: Metaphora

Void of Sleep is an Italian rock/metal band which formed in 2013. That same year they released their debut album titled Tales Between Reality and Madness. In 2015 came their sophomore effort New World Order, and still I had no idea this band existed. That is until their latest fell into my player. Their third is titled Metaphora and was released in 2020. I really need to dig into their first two discs because this band seems to be made for these ears. One of the best facets of this album is how it doesn’t want to be pigeonholed in any one specific genre yet still comes together in such a seamless and unifying fashion. Psych, doom, stoner rock, progressive metal/rock, all play a role here and the band executes its plan almost flawlessly.

The first track “The Famine Years” is a beautiful composition where strings and acoustic guitar are laid on a background of moody effects, with the overall vibe being a somber one with so much feeling it is almost palpable. This is in direct contrast to the next track “Iron Mouth” with its heavy doomy riffs and pummeling rhythm section. The lead vocals are excellent as well and the trippy background synths offers a compelling ingredient. The song ebbs and flows, through heavy and quieter moods, slowly building until the intense riffs are unleashed once more. The instrumental “Waves of Discomfort” is all trippy soundscapes and neat effects with unsettling sounds, hence the title while “Unfair Judgements” features a massive bottom end and excellent drumming. More winding synths can be heard on the heavy “Master Abuser” before ending with the fantastic “Tides of the Mourning” combining powerful growls and melodic clean vocals and a good amount of catchiness, including an addictive chorus. An excellent ending to a terrific album.

If you are into stoner, psych, doom, heavy metal, prog, well, you get the picture. Absolutely recommended.

Track Listing:
1. The Famine Years (2:22)
2. Iron Mouth (11:00)
3. Waves of Discomfort (3:09)
4. Unfair Judgements (5:39)
5. Master Abuser (6:34)
6. Modern Man (7:27)
7. Tides of the Mourning (10:29)

Added: April 8th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band on Facebook
Hits: 179
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by