Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Heart Healer: The Metal Opera by Magnus Karlsson

Created by the A & R director of Frontiers Records Serafino Perugino, Magnus Karlsson (Primal Fear/The Ferrymen) conducts a contemporary Metal Opera combined with a bombastic load of Symphonically arranged Metal; elegantly dipping toes into a flooded plain of some perfectly suited compositions along with a collaboration of seven excellently talented international guest vocalists that includes Noora Louhimo (Battle Beast), Adrienne Cowen (Seven Spires, Avantasia) and Anette Olzon (The Dark Element, ex-Nightwish).

Additionally, the hard work that has gone into this ambitious offering is evident throughout its playlist and that for me has been expressed elegantly with a raw emotion, a load of over-the-top orchestral arrangements and a notable basket of some exceptionally constructed song writing to say the least.

With all the combing forces on tracks like the catchy Cowan fronted Broadway-esque robustness of 'Awake' and the epic soars from Louhimo on the strikingly mysterious track of 'Into the Unknown', the quality on display here really shines through and from my experience the musicality really hooks the grasps of the listener, whilst also ingraining a long-lasting effect in the shadows of the mind.

Comprehensively, I do not feel there is anything complicated dwelling here in comparison to other Metal Opera projects of the past, however the songs do sometimes take a unique turn and can be seen as convincingly progressive at heart, as clearly demonstrated on the likes of the majestic fantasy outlet of ‘Back to Life' that features Ailyn Gimenez (ex- Sirenia, Trail of Tears) and the Texas based singer Margarita Monet.

Alongside this, the piano saturating 'When the Fire Burns Out' fits suitably well with the notable charms pushed out from the combined emotional vocalised dramatics of Netta Laurenne (Smackbound) and the Lebanon born Youmna Jreissati (Ostura).

Moreover, it is an absolute must to check out the spell binding guitar antics and solo on the latter of this track from the magnificent Karlsson, it is one of those to truly die for and one not to be missed at any point.

All-inclusively, one of the storming stand out points to recognise from this brand-new opus is the grand splendour of the rage entwined deep inside the resourceful and colossal section of this Metal Opera in the form of the power surging 'Evil's Around the Corner' presented by the stupendous Louhimo and the pristine words of Cowan; appearing together once again and working all levels of the music uniquely to its ultimate maximum potential.

Personally, I think Noora Louhimo is the supreme highlight of The Metal Opera by Magnus Karlsson and the performance she distributes on the tracks that she is involved with just stand out above the rest and they are just way above par in terms of class to convey this sublime demonstration as a successful outing indeed.

Let's hope Magnus returns with another determined sophomore release very soon, maybe this time with the likes of Charlotte Wessels and the addition few others to add to the concoction as this cannot be the end as implied on the closing fragmentation of the 'This is Not the End'.

Track list:
1. Awake
2. Come Out of the Shadows
3. Who Can Stand All Alone
4. Back to Life
5. Into the Unknown
6. When the Fire Burns Out
7. Evil's Around the Corner
8. Mesmerised
9. Weaker
10. This is Not the End

Added: April 2nd 2021
Reviewer: James Mannion
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 701
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by