Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Orion’s Reign: Scores of War

Originally released in October 2018 and one of the most successful productions on Pride & Joy Music, Symphonic Power Metal outlet Orion’s Reign recapture the elements of their sophomore opus in the stature of a re-issue and they throw in a few treats with some additional bonus tracks to keep up the heat.

Furthermore, I have briefly had the pleasure to listen to Greek warriors a few times prior to checking out this second round of their ambitious follow up to 2008’s solidified effort of nuclear Winter; medicating us with an alluring spell from an epic kind of fantasy world and leading the masses into heart of war with the elevated anthems of pride.

All-embracingly, there is more than plenty to get on with here with a dominant package loaded full of battle hymns to keep the commanding legions singing for a very long duration of time and to pledge victory into the ears of Power Metal fanatics with force; distinctly heard through the monumental spheres of the remarkably constructed single ‘Nostos’ featuring YouTube Metal cover sensation Minniva , the awe-inspiring work of art lengthy epic known as ‘An Adventure Song’ and the outstanding no-nonsense phenomenon ‘Freedom is Not Negotiable’; guiding things sweetly at a passionate pace to keep things straight to the point without wandering too afar in the meantime.

Combining all the spirits of glory and strength, there are a few special guests making cameo appearances throughout Scores of War, including former Judas Priest microphone man Tim ‘Ripper’ Owens on the indestructibly herculean war ensemble of ‘Together We March, along with further appearances from ex-Yngwie Malmsteen frontman Mark Boals, the ex-Firewind Keyboard maestro Bob Kastionis and the insanely talented Yannis Papadopoulos of neighbouring Heavy Power Metal Heroes Beast in Black; manufacturing this superior production as a gigantic strain of triumph and success for this to be a joyous contribution to the Power Metal world.

Additionally, I personally think it is a principal focus point to also honourably mention the two bonus tracks included on this victorious outlet considering this is actually a re-release. Firstly, we have Orion’s Reign fiery version of the infamous riff face Melter ‘Raining Blood’ born from the U.S Thrash titans Slayer with a Symphonically masterful spin ,and secondly joining this close by is the ferocious cover of ‘Dragonborn’ from the popular worldwide video game Skyrim; featuring a guest performance from the powerful Wind Rose and Fairyland vocaliser Francesco Cavalieri on the microphone �" what more could you want?

Track Listing
  1. Elder Blood
  2. Together We March
  3. Gravewalker
  4. The Undefeated Gaul
  5. An Adventure Song
  6. Freedom is Not Negotiable
  7. Nostos
  8. Warrior’s Pride
  9. Withering Heart
  10. Last Stand
  11. Ride to War
  12. Ways to Purgatory (Intro to Bonus Tracks)
  13. Raining Blood (Bonus Track)
  14. Dragonborn (Bonus Track)

Added: March 28th 2021
Reviewer: James Mannion
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 310
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by