Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Edison Junction Band: Torn Mind

A phrase recently used in a review by Jon Neudorf, one of my esteemed colleagues here at SoT, immediately resonated when I set out to get to know Edison Junction Band, a Welsh duo releasing their fourth album, Torn Mind. That phrase being ‘music is in the ear of the beholder’, and so it proves here, with Eric Davies and Ian Shopland describing their latest opus as ‘a melodic tribute to the genre of prog rock that's been over 30 years in the making’. However, while this album undoubtedly contains some excellent, intricate musical interplay, the overall feel is one more of blues rock being rendered through a psychedelic filter - or at least it is to me anyway (natch!).

Created under the constraints of coronavirus, what else sticks out to me on this ten song collection is that Torn Mind sonically doesn’t come across as the most honed and crafted album you’ll ever hear. In all honesty there’s a demo like flavour to some of the cuts, with the finished sound maybe a little more rough and ready than I’d personally expect. The music itself contains a lot of interesting characteristics, reasonably repetitive choruses tackling a host of current world themes from a variety of angles that make you stop and think. The loosely current day/sci-fi imagery of the album’s opening track “AI” turns a strong light on this aspect of the album, the questioning of our ever greater reliance on machine over man to get through life taken to its logical (or extreme, depending on your viewpoint) conclusion.

Vocally Shopland takes an impassioned approach, storytelling and phrasing keen weapons wielded, although that does sometimes mean that those seeking a more pure singer will possibly feel a little left out in the cold. Arguably that thought takes a hold during “Little Man”, with the simple attack a little too straight ahead for the music it fronts, although I’m guessing that live the impact could be ramped up quite considerably. With “Torn Mind” highlighting the energetic but pointed guitar work from Davies, it’s difficult not to wonder how much more effective this outfit might be with an all singing, all dancing production and mix. However, as it is, at the risk of sounding harsh, the results are a little dull and lifeless. Something which is a real shame given that you really can sense the heart, soul and good intentions that have gone into this album.

Track Listing
1. AI
2. Parallel Lines
3. 4Ever
4. Torn Mind
5. What’s In A Name
6. Interlude
7. Walked Out Of Africa
8. Diminished Returns
9. Little man
10. Constantinople

Added: March 19th 2021
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Edison Junction Band online
Hits: 875
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by