Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Neuhauser, Ronnie: Ronnie Neuhauser’s Congregation Against Styrocultural Brain Damage

Underground avant-garde jazz rocker Ronnie Neuhauser released the bizarrely titled Ronnie Neuhauser’s Congregation Against Styrocultural Brain Damage in 2001, although I only recently received it for review. The enigmatic artist certainly doesn’t play by the rules and has complete artistic freedom to do as he pleases. Like the title, the music within is far from commercial and although I can do without the spoken word stuff there are some interesting moments to be had.

Songs like the funky and soulful “Congregation”, the excellent guitar work in the catchy “Tax Monster”, the rocking funk of “The Presidential Puppet Man” with its ripping guitar solo and the tasty saxophone and bass work in “Commander n' Thief” are a few album highlights.

I don’t love it all but there are enough songs I do like to earn Congregation a solid three stars.

Track Listing:
Act One
Convocation for the Disgruntled
1. Prelude
2. Congregation
3. Upside Down Down Cake
4. Unity
Act Two
Bile From the Belly of a Jackal
5. I Am the Media
6. Tax Monster
7. The Presidential Puppet Man
8. Commander n’ Thief
9. Lust in Oval Space (With Slick Willies Funk Sack Prelude and Epilogue)
10. The Jungle Fruity Crazy Mix
Act Three
The Unanswered Question
11. Decision
12. Soul Kiss
13. Hunger Won’t Steal
14. Scenes from Beyond the Fence
15. Sunshine Down On Me
16. Change
17. Set Free
Act Four
Styrocultural Antidote
18. New Nomadic Man Suite (first movement)
19. Dr. Sus
20. Tapsy Turvy (guitar piece)
21. Funk “U” Up/Sup (instrumental version)
22. CD 101 with a Twist

Added: March 19th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 99
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by