Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ring Van Möbius: The 3rd Majesty

Norwegian retro progressive rock band Ring Van Möbius have made their presence felt with two highly impactful albums thus far, Past the Evening Sun (2018) and their latest titled The 3rd Majesty (2020). Both can be found on the Apollon Records label.

The band has described their sound as “progressive rock straight from 1971 but made today”. I think its important to note the band does not sound dated to me and I think of it more of being greatly influenced by early ‘70s classic progressive rock. I cannot fault them at all as these tunes are so well crafted and expertly put together, and as such they sound quite fresh to these ears.

I know some folks will still question a release like this, nothing new here, its all been done before, etc, etc, etc. And yes, who am I to argue with that. This is not ground breaking or earth shattering but I cannot help but absolutely love this album.

The disc begins with “The Seven Movements Of The Third Majesty”, a twenty-two minute epic that is easily worth the price of admission. Sure the band wears their influences on their collective sleeves but as the instrumental passages, including some massive organ riffs, twist and turn through the many musical layers, one cannot help but smile. Some awesome bass grooves and excellent lead vocals complete the picture. I just really dig the combination of psychedelic and prog, such a cool sound. More outstanding keyboards and guitar highlight the technically impressive “Illuminati” followed by “Distant Sphere” where classical strings and softer vocals collide with complex drumming, rumbling organ and a barrage of avant-garde and spacey sounds. It is all very eclectic and highly addictive. The disc ends with the heavy prog of “The Möbius Ring”, quite an intense rocker and a great way to end the disc.

Please remember Ring Van Möbius is no mere copy of King Crimson, Van Der Graaf Generator, ELP and the like, they just happen to appreciate classic prog and their music reflects it. The 3rd Majesty is an outstanding work and is completely deserving of any accolades it receives. Highly recommended for all progressive rock fans.

Band members:
Thor Erik Helgesen (spectral modular synthesis system, Hammond L100, Fender Rhodes, clavinet D6, piano, lead and backing vocals)
Håvard Rasmussen (Fender bass VI, Moog theremin, ring modulator, space echo effects)
Dag Olav Husås (glockenspiel, chimes, timpani, gong, tubular bells, cymbals, drums, backing vocals)

Track Listing:
1. The Seven Movements Of The Third Majesty (22:06)
a. Universal
b. Spectrum
c. Reaction
d. Bilateral
e. Zenith
f. Strife of The Icons
g. Attitude Over Azimuth
2. Illuminati (5:33)
3. Distant Sphere (11:11)
4. The Möbius Ring (9:01)

Added: March 14th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band on Facebook
Hits: 598
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by