Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fe Fi Fo: Life On Planet Earth

Here is a something off the beaten track. The band is Fe Fi Fo, led by multi-instrumentalist Ronnie Neuhauser, and the album is titled Life On Planet Earth. This was recently sent to me even though the album came out in 2016.

This is a difficult album to categorize but I suppose I would file this under experimental acoustic based music. There are nineteen tracks in total with eight under two minutes. Some are completely experimental, like the opening “La Trompeta”, just thirty-four seconds of eerie saxophone mysticism and the almost sinister sounding “Foreshadow”. Others, like the Jethro Tull inspired title track are nicely fleshed out with tantalizing acoustic guitar and lead vocals that reminded me just a little of Ian Anderson. The vocal arrangement is complex yet quite catchy. The relaxed vocals and gentle instrumentation in “Today” and the sumptuous bass lines in “Pass Gently” are more nice moments.

So, this one has some high and low points. I could do away with some of the shorter, avant-garde pieces, but some tracks really caught my attention. This will not be for everyone and I suggest you listen before you buy but for those looking for a more adventurous listen of acoustic musical forms, by all means check it out.

Track listing:
1. La Trompeta (Blessing to the Four Directions) (0:34)
2. There is a Fire (1:33)
3. Life on Planet Earth (4:14)
4. Today (2:21)
5. Babel (1:24)
6. Pass Gently (4:55)
7. Foreshadow (1:08)
8. Beautiful People (2:13)
9. Gandhi (5:45)
10. Wash The Tears Away (2:10)
11. Plea (4:15)
12. Cry (2:43)
13. The Box (8:46)
14. Out of the Mouth of a Babe (1:04)
15. Daydream (3:33)
16. Decisions (1:42)
17. Be The One (4:08)
18. Prana (Breath) (1:23)
19. The Convocation (1:13)

Added: March 13th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 856
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by