Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hourswill: Dawn Of The Same Flesh

There is so much music out there one just cannot here it all. Although many bands pass me by without a listen there are many that find their way into my regular rotation and one such band is Hourswill, another new discovery for me. Hourswill are from Portugal and formed in 2009 but it was not until 2014 they released their debut album titled Inevitable, followed by Harm Full Embrace (2017) and their latest Dawn Of The Same Flesh (2019).

In the band are Nuno Peixoto (drums and percussion), José Bonito (guitars), Pedro Costa (bass), Leonel Silva (lead vocals) and Tainan Reis (lead guitars).

Now, Dawn Of The Same Flesh isn’t breaking new ground in the world of progressive metal but the band has laid down powerful lead vocals, a solid bottom end and some pretty cool riff progressions to keep it all quite interesting. The disc begins with the somber yet gorgeous “Asherah” featuring a beautiful acoustic guitar, pleasing lead vocals and a tasteful keyboard arrangement. It’s a mellow beginning, preparing the listener for the heavy onslaught yet to come. It gets heavy quickly with the one two punch of “Innocence” and “A Beauty In Bloom”, both solid progressive metal tracks. The latter features a cool bluesy interlude, completely unexpected but the band make it work. The old school heavy metal of “Enlightenment” with its catchy background vocals and chorus and the three part “Benightedness”, contrasting between mellow edginess, fine acoustic guitar, and blazing guitar riffs. It’s hard hitting and moody with some catchy choruses to top it off.

Although its already a couple years old its not too late to dig into Dawn Of The Same Flesh. I found it to be a slow burner, really coming together after a few spins. Metal fans shouldn’t hesitate to give this one a shot. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Asherah
2. Innocence
3. A beauty In Bloom
4. Now That I Feel
5. Enlightenment
6. Benightedness (Part I)
7. Benightedness (Part II)
8. Benightedness (Part III)
9. I Vow To Hate
10. Corrupted Soul
11. We Are The Same Flesh
12. Hanwi

Added: March 10th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band on Facebook
Hits: 991
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by