Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Gundersen, Marius Noss: Solo Guitar Works

I first became familiar with Norwegian composer/classical guitarist Marius Noss Gundersen after reviewing his 2019 album Brazilian Guitar Music. He is a wonderful acoustic player and composer. On His latest album titled Solo Guitar Works he has composed five pieces for Christina Sandsengen, Randall Avers, Gjermund Titlestad, Thomas Kjekstad and Sven Lundestad, all exceptional players in their own right.

I noted in my review of Gundersen’s last album his playing was superb and on his latest you can say the same of his compositional skills, exceptionally crafted for each guest guitarist. The disc begins with the four-part suite “Seasons” performed by Christina Sandsengen with each movement reflecting the changing seasons. The playing is reflective and moving, ideally crafted for each mood. “Musical Evolution” is a ten-minute piece highlighting different periods in musical history from the Renaissance to Baroque to Blues and Jazz and the playing is incredibly diverse with highly complex, yet melodic guitar patterns and top craftsmanship.

Perhaps the most reflective of our current time is ‘Lament” composed for Thomas Kjekstad, a song written during Trump’s presidency as you might expect given the title, the mood is incredibly somber and even angry at times. As angry as you can be given the limitations of acoustic guitar, which in the hands of these players is practically non-existent.

Gundersen and his mates have created a beautiful acoustic guitar album, highlighting each player’s strengths, a display of creativity and unrelenting talent. Anyone remotely interested in instrumental acoustic music should dive right in. Absolutely recommended.

Track Listing:
Seasons (Christina Sandsengen)
1. Spring (2:55)
2. Summer (2:53)
3. Autumn (3:14)
4. Winter (4:01)
5. Musical Evolution (Randall Avers) (10:13)
Preludes (Gjermund Titlestad)
6. Prelude no 1 (3:38)
7. Prelude no 2 (2:50)
8. Prelude no 3 (3:30)
9. Prelude no 4 (3:44)
10. Prelude no 5 (3:34)
11. Lament (Thomas Kjekstad) (5:27)
Sonata �" Echoes of Brazil (Sven Lundestad)
12. Lapa (4:14)
13. Corcovado (3:23)
14. Farol de Itapuã (2:27)
15. Maracanã (4:00)

Added: March 5th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 243
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by