Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Powerman 5000: The Noble Rot

I cannot say I am familiar with the work of Rob Zombie, I know, I am a little behind the times. Well, unbeknownst to me he has a brother Spider One who fronts the band Powerman 5000 which has been around since 1991, go figure. They released their debut in 1995 and have gone through many line-up changes since. Now Spider One is the only original member left but that has not stopped him from plying his trade, their latest is titled The Noble Rot, released in 2020 on Cleopatra Records.

From what I have read the band has changed styles frequently, perhaps related to line-up changes? Since this recent platter is all I have heard I cannot compare notes on previous releases which is okay and maybe even beneficial as it is always prudent to judge a release on its own merits.

The music has elements of industrial, electronic, metal and darkwave (for a lack of a better word) and there are some nice moments to be had. The first track “Cannibal Killers That Kill Everyone” has some intense heavy riffing and half sung/spoken vocals which suit Spider One’s lower register. It’s all sheathed in an electronic landscape with a hard driving and rocking beat. Next is “Brave New World” and while I like the chopped up guitar riffs I am not a fan of the pseudo rap vocals as his voice seems too strained for my liking. The mid-tempo “Play God Or Play Dead” is much more to my liking with the vocals a bit less intense and techno elements pulsating within the heavy guitar work. “Black Lipstick”, the first single has a darkwave feel, very catchy with some neat synth and electronics. “Special Effects” is another good track with the heavily processed vocals adding just a hint of menace, nicely combined with robotic guitar riffs and cool electronics.

Although not everything blows me away, there is much to dig on this relatively short thirty minute album. This is a dark album so its not all butterflies and unicorns in this slightly skewed corner of the world.

Band members:
Spider One (vocals)
Ty Oliver (guitar)
Taylor Haycraft (guitar)
Murv3 (bass)
DJ Rattan (drums)

The Blood-Spat Rating System (1995)
Mega!! Kung Fu Radio (Reissue of Blood-Spat Rating System �" 1997)
Tonight the Stars Revolt! (1997)
Anyone For Doomsday? (2001)
Transform (2003)
Destroy What You Enjoy (2006)
Somewhere on the Other Side of Nowhere (2009)
Copies Clones & Replicants (2011)
Builders of the Future (2014)
New Wave (2017)
The Noble Rot (2020)

Track Listing:
1. Cannibal Killers That Kill Everyone
2. Brave New World
3. Play God Or Play Dead
4. Black Lipstick
5. Special Effects
6. Let The Insects Rule
7. Movie Blood
8. Strange People Doing Strange Things
9. We Got The Beat
10. VHS
Bonus Track
11. When Worlds Collide (2020)

Added: March 3rd 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 658
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by