Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sun King Rising: Delta Tales

Sun King Rising is a project led by Texas singer/songwriter/keyboardist John Blangero. Blangero played in his first group at the age of fourteen which eventually culminated in his own band Harlequin which played in the Pennsylvania area. Eventually he stepped away from music to further his career in biomedical research. Twenty years later he has returned with his debut album titled Delta Tales. On Delta Tales Blangero displays his love of soulful R&B, Americana and the occasional bit of country. Blangero has a warm satisfyingly soulful voice and is complemented by excellent female backing vocals throughout the disc’s ten tracks.

The music is very professionally put together, solid musicianship, nice melodies and plenty of soul, especially in the vocal department. Blangero has a warm and pleasing vocal delivery and meshes nicely with the band’s grooves and rootsy musicianship. The first track “The Snake” is really catchy with a big band horn arrangement and an overall funky, soulful sound. “Milkweed and Thistle” is another good track with the tasty guitar work having a southern bent and the piano providing the melodic framework. The soaring guitar is especially moving. The country tinged “Down the Delta Road” includes the use of dobro giving the song its twangy sound and the slightly melancholic “In a State of Grace” is a lovely track with wonderful lead and backing vocals and melodic saxophone courtesy of Bob Esterle. “Take it Down” is another fine tune with standout vocals and guitar.

Listening to Delta Tales has been very enjoyable. For those searching for uplifting, soulful music you really should give this one a try. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. The Snake (3:38)
2. Milkweed and Thistle (6:12)
3. Down the Delta Road (3:20)
4. In a State of Grace (4:14)
5. Take it Down (4:14)
6. Beneath the Southern Sun (5:28)
7. Evangeline in the Morning (3:26)
8. Love Turns Grey (3:34)
9. Drive Me to Nashville (4:02)
10. Let There Be Light (5:25)

Added: February 25th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 545
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by