Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Morse, Tim: The Archaeology Project

Hailing from Sacramento, California, Tim Morse is a singer/songwriter/progressive rock/pop musician who has been around for quite a few years now. By the way, Tim is not related to that other Morse we all know so well. I first became familiar with his work upon reviewing his albums III and Faithscience. His new release is a compilation, containing fourteen tracks.

The first track “Guitar Etude” is a short acoustic guitar piece and at only thirty seconds long doesn’t have enough time to develop which is a bit of a shame because it has a very pretty melody which I would love to hear fleshed out into something more developed. This brings us to the epic three part suite “Apocalyptic Visions”, and let me tell you it is a magnificent track. As it twists and turns over the course of fifteen minutes, Morse and his cohorts prove to be excellent musicians. Shifting themes from moody quieter soundscapes to symphonic progressive rock to more intense progressive metal. Another real treat, especially for Floyd fans, is Morse’ cover of “Dogs”, ten minutes of moody guitar work, slinky rhythmic grooves and tasty lead vocals. It is very well done and probably my favourite moment on the album. The sax solo is a great choice and I love how Morse makes this one his own while still keeping true to the original classic.

More otherworldly textures and sounds can be heard on the spacey and ambient-like “Inertia” while “The Mary Celeste” includes some lovely violin and interesting change ups leading into Morse’ biting electric guitar and fabulous organ runs. The keyboard and synth melodies on the nine minute “Voyager” makes for another album highlight.

The album ends with the moody and somewhat serene “The Corners” with its spoken word, Floydy piano work and gentle symphonic swells.

If you are unfamiliar with Morse’ work The Archaeology Project should be well worth your time and for those who have heard some of this before, these remastered tracks sound great and of course you get the previously unreleased “Dogs”. Highly recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Guitar Etude 1/December, 1970 (0:28)
2. Apocalyptic Visions (15:23)
i. The Endless Page
ii. Realization
iii. The Vision
3. Adrift (3:37)
4. Rome (5:22)
5. Voyager (9:10)
i. Roosevelt Field
ii. The Atlantic Ocean
iii. Le Bourget Aerodrome
6. Window (1:17)
7. Afterword (5:22)
8. 200 Yards (3:43)
9. My Ally (4:10)
10. Inertia (2:51)
11. The Mary Celeste (5:20)
12. The Marquis (3:25)
13. Dogs Pink Floyd Cover (10:46)
14. The Corners (1:56)

Added: February 23rd 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 806
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by