Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Terminal Bliss: Brute Err/ata

There are ten tracks on this album, and it takes eleven minutes to listen to them all. If you like punk rock, the brevity won’t bother you. If you like Virginia punk, you’ll probably listen to it several times. The band is made up of seasoned punk musicians Chris (vocals) and Mike Taylor (guitars), Ryan Parrish (drums), and Adam Juresko (bass). If you like bands such as Iron Reagan, City of Caterpillar, Darkest Hour, Pygmy Lush, or Pg. 99, you’ve heard these guys before and you already have a sense of what to expect here.

The band started in January 2020 and began recording this album six weeks later. They even had a show scheduled but had to cancel it because of COVID-19. The music here is punk rock fused with a fair amount of noise. The band claims Born Against, Gauze, Void, Necros, Black Flag, and many others as their main influences. If you are into any of those bands, you’ll probably like release.

The themes here range from the dystopian (“March of the Grieving Droid”) to America’s healthcare problems (“Clean Bill of Wealth”). My favorite track was “Small One Time Fee” because it nicely (and quickly) critiqued the problem of just how easily distracted people can be. It’s also just a cool song that starts off with lots of punch and venom and then settles into a slow rant. I also enjoyed “Discarded Wallet,” “8 Billion People Reported Missing” and “March of the Grieving Droid.” As I said at the beginning, this release is short and so you might feel like some of the main ideas need more development. I thought the album was long enough. It doesn’t wear out its welcome and it doesn’t leave you exhausted by its relentless attack.

Maybe the last thing you want is another social critique, but punk rock has a long tradition of combining anger, politics, and playfulness. Overall, it’s a good listen and shows good promise for more of what’s to come.

Track Listing:
1. Clean Bill of Wealth
2. Anthropomorbid
3. Dystopian Buffet
4. The Ominous Hum
5. Small One Time Fee
6. 8 Billion People Reported Missing
7. Tumoresque
8. Discarded Wallet

9. March of the Grieving Droid
10. Hidden Handed Artificial Harassment Experimental Run Amok

Added: February 21st 2021
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Bandcamp Page
Hits: 653
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by