Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Great Electric Quest: Live At Freak Valley

Great Electric Quest is a stoner heavy metal/rock band hailing from San Diego, California. The band have released three full length albums thus far, including their latest titled Live At Freak Valley, recorded in Netphen, Germany. This is my first foray into their music.

What you need to know about this band is pretty straight forward, they are really heavy. What’s really cool about this album is the energy on display, they are certainly a force in concert, and like many stoner rock bands it is mostly about the almighty riff and on this album they are loud, grooving and sometimes crushingly heavy. The lead vocals while not perfect, suit the style providing punch and power but also mellower when the need arises.

The disc begins with a cover of Pink Floyd’s “In The Flesh” and the band do a bang up job, and while not straying very far from the original, it is clear this band has considerable talent. On “Seeker Of The Flame” a clean drum begins the proceedings followed by muscular guitar riffs and a galloping stoner metal groove. The lead vocals are slightly gritty and gruff, matching the intensity of the music. Next is “Of Earth Episode I: Creation” filled with thunderous riffs and a rather long drum solo, displaying Daniel Velasco’s prodigious skill behind the kit. When the riffs return it is with unbridled intensity and the blistering guitar solo is pretty awesome. With “Of Earth Episode II: Destruction”, a doomy Sabbath-like beginning leads the way before the tempo speeds up and the shredding guitar begins in earnest shred. It is an absolutely scorching performance. “Episode III: Ancient Machine” slows down the tempo and is much more atmospheric with mood laden guitar work. “Victims Of Changes” unfolds with cool riff progressions and is definitely a throwback to early ‘70s hard rock. Just an excellent track with some cool change ups and variations in tempo. Completing the package is a fiery rendition of the Deep Purple classic “Highway Star”, a fitting ending to what has been a revelatory listen.

Live At Freak Valley is an excellent introduction to an exciting band that would be a joy to see live. Hopefully that will happen in the not too distant future. Easily recommended.

Band members:
Tyler “T-Sweat” Dingvell (vocals)
Buddy Donner (guitar)
Daniel “MuchoDrums” Velasco (drums)
Jared Bliss (bass)

Track Listing:
1. In The Flesh?
2. Seeker Of The Flame
3. Of Earth Episode I: Creation
4. Of Earth Episode II: Destruction
5. Of Earth Episode III: Ancient Machine
6. Victim Of Changes
7. The Madness
8. Heart Of The Son
9. Wicked Hands
10. Highway Star

Added: February 14th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 526
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by