Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mrs. Fun: Truth

I really had no idea what was in store for me when I received this disc for review. The band calls themselves Mrs. Fun, a duo from Waukesha, Wisconsin, consisting of multi-instrumentalist Connie Grauer (keyboards, bass, vocals) and Kim Zick (drums). Their new album, their eighth overall, is titled Truth.

I have to say I was surprised of the technical savvy this duo displays. The drums, keyboards and bass is a highlight throughout the album. The music is mostly jazz, sometimes upbeat and melodic, other times more experimental and adventurous. The bass and electric piano often trading off some excellent solo spots.

The disc begins with a traditional keyboard horn motif, pretty slick and definitely catchy. The sound and playing becomes more adventurous, the bass and keyboards are particularly outstanding. The drum work also excels, who says you need a massive kit to sound good? On “Process Is The Purpose” a talking vocal and more cool jazz chill out grooves has an almost ephemera quality with a splash of hip hop and cabaret jazz to give it that extra smooth sound. “Tula’s Turnaround” has a fast moving groove and massive organ riff and excellent bass and keyboard interaction. “Silent Mist/How Insensitive” is a little more laid back with its sly groove and tasty electric piano whereas “Soulful Strutt” is perhaps the most infectious tune here with its repeating melody on the electric piano and more acrobatic instrumental fireworks. Another outstanding track is “Zawinul” where the drumming is outstanding and with “I Don’t Want To Know Your Name” the band delve into some acid jazz soundscapes.

This one is completely out of left field. If you enjoy your jazz rock outside the proverbial box you really should give Truth a try. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. 19
2. Process Is The Purpose
3. Tula’s Turnaround
4. Silent Mist/How insensitive
5. Soulful Strutt
6. Zawinul
7. I Don’t Want To Know Your Name
8. Light My Fire
9. House Party
10. Orange Grove
11. Space Port/Pinocchio
12. Let Me Live My Lie
13. Calm Before The Storm

Added: January 20th 2021
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 859
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by